You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SteemAlive Presents: "Your Root" Take us on a journey of discovery to your hometown? (60 Steem Prize)

in SteemAlive4 years ago

Many people say that the word Venezuela comes from the Italian city of Venecia because those wooden constructions made out by indigenous over the water, specially in the Maracaibo's lake, although others think that the real origin is because an aboriginal word, "Veneçiuela". In any case, i love the name of my country, not just because I'm coming from here but it brings all the vowels. Not all countries have these five vowels in their nominations. In my living area, there's this famous Orinoco's festival organized in August by state's governor where the Orinoco River always rises in this month and it provides a lot of delicious fish called Sapoara which is prepared in many dishes.

A general contest to choose the queen of this event is also carried out. It could be incredible to say this, but I'm pretty sure I never taste this kind of fish because I think I'm like my grandma: we're both not so fans of fishes from rivers but seas (she born in Sucre's state, a region located in the venezuelan coast).

There's also a known group of singers that I really and always love to hear about, "Serenata Guayanesa", they're from this gorgeous region and their music is very typical and you'll like them once you hear their original songs. They even travelled around the world sharing our cultural heritage, so I can feel so proud of them. 🙂 I attended to a anniversary concert organized by a local radio station and they admitted it was surprising to hear that German kids are learning Spanish with their great songs. My City takes an important part of my country's history because our National Hero, Simon Bolívar, spent few days in the St. Isidro's house, where he wrote his famous Angostura speech to develop his "The Big Colombia" project and then, he pronounced it at the Angostura's Congress, the ancient and historic name of this city.

Definitely, I love it, this city is unique: its historical center is still keeping some colonial houses and has drawn the eyes of many tourists.

Sort:  

Muy bonita y compelta tu presentacion amiga, ya somos varios presentando nuestra hermosa Ciudad. Mucho exito.

Muchas gracias amiga @genomil. Un saludote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61890.63
ETH 3411.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50