Is The Celebration Of Christmas Sin?

in SteemAlive3 years ago (edited)

Hello, great steemians! Sorry, I have been away for a while. I had to attend to an inevitable. But trust me, I'm back for good. The topic I'm about to talk about ought to have been published at least a week earlier.

download.jpg
Source

Right now, it is belated, however, the message is not belated. It's about a debate on the right of Christians to celebrate Xmas. Some school of thought believe it is not Biblical and shouldn't be celebrated by Christians. In this article, I will share my opinion on the topic.

Honestly, I would rather advocate for the cancellation of Christmas, if I have the power. It's, however, not because celebrating the feast is sinful, as some people opine. Rather, it's because of how reckless and unreasonable people spend that period.

I can't imagine spending almost all I have while my children, brothers' sisters' school fees are due in January. Even house rent is there staring at me, and you expect me to squander all I have just for Xmas. That's the definition of foolishness.

However, to those shouting about the sinfulness of the celebration, you probably lack the understanding of what sin is. I mean the meaning of sin from Christ's point of view. Sin is any action that lacks love.

How did I know this? Jesus said that the whole commandment is narrowed down to the love of God and the neighbour.

"Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind. This is the first and greatest commandment. And the second is like it: Love your neighbor as yourself

Matthew 22:36-40.

Then, He further narrowed it again to the love of neighbor. Listen to him,

"Whoever claims to love God yet hates a brother or sister is a liar. For whoever does not love their brother and sister, whom they have seen, cannot love God, whom they have not seen."
1 John 4:20 NIV.

In another passage, he said,

"whatsoever you do to the least of your brothers and sisters, you do unto me,"
Matthew 25:40.

You see, you haven't committed any sin until your actions become injurious to the next person or yourself.

Have you forgotten that Jesus was crucified for accusations like this. Healing the sick on Sabbath, plucking fruit in a garden on Sabbath. Etc. They always tie sin to a particular action, not motive.

To those people who are all over the media shouting and calling out some people they tag "religious", can you agree with me that you are a "kettle calling pot black". Thinking that an individual committed sin because he celebrated Xmas is simply a religious view. Now, let us define the word religious

What Is Religious?

According to the Merriam-Webster Dictionary,

"religious is believing in a god or group of gods, and following the rules of the religion.
Source

Please check the second part of the definition... and following the rules of the religion. It didn't say following the will of God.

What people should press home is, what will Jesus say about the celebration of Christmas. Since the race is an individual one, He's going to judge everyone according to their action not whether you celebrated.

It's religious to assume because I abused a thing, it must affect the next person who's moderate in his action. That's not how it is seen spiritually. Everybody is responsible for his life in the spirit. The same action that is sin here may not be there. It depends on the person's motive.

For example, bedding a woman is a given action. Now, now it is a sin when you take the one you have not paid her bride prize. Secondly, generally, telling lies is regarded as sin, but if you one tells lies to save a live.

Now, coming to Xmas celebration, we know that alot of evil happens during the period. But, if my neighbor decides to kill in order to buy car for Christmas and I was contented, does it affect me.

That I bought chicken, drinks, clothes, shoes or travelled home for Xmas is a sin is ignorance of the faith you profess. Dearest, the only sin is when I spend my savings and had face difficult times because of my foolishness.

It's ignorance of the highest order. Jesus doesn't care if you celebrate a feast. His concern is how many people your actions harmed or promoted.

If I celebrate in my house without harming anyone, please listen up Mr. Spiritual man, I'm at peace with Jesus. Stop being more Catholic than the pope or more English than Queen Eliza.

NB. Don't forget that many people are blessing other in the spirit of the feast. Is it part of the sin About Christmas.

Special mention

@focusnow
@ngoenyi
@udyliciouz
@patience90

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60497.39
ETH 2637.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56