SEC | S19W2 : Micro Teaching

in Teachers & Students4 days ago (edited)

Welcome to my blog! It is another week of learning as learning never stops. Last week was about lesson plan and this week is another mind-blowing topic "micro teaching".
Before I begin, I would like to invite the following users to participate in this contest @bela90, @okere-blessing and @manuelhooks.

IMG_20240718_174648.jpg

3V3rr4S3jU49uJ7YGXMfCAW8jdBAMcLpwKuDWQd3Wy8m3RaUDpmi5hc7CwvtDQDkGfavQQm48ctxAqsEXNXzArexwVFZAz9a51G3C8Sj27...YCPrrVpyydqCxcscvpo17QiiNJkFrW1t9A2u1TqxfJCg1j3i9FLULFkz4Lf9B2evM4oxmxCtg91avV2DzQBbhTZ2mANbaNwrg6uRFF1Aeiiz3xbrFCmAXe7dqx.png

Assuming you are given a class to carry out Micro Teaching and you have 20 minutes to do this. Using the sample of the lesson plan above prepare a lesson plan. (Take note of the presentation and conclusion columns and present the needed information in them at least 150 words)

3V3rr4S3jU49uJ7YGXMfCAW8jdBAMcLpwKuDWQd3Wy8m3RaUDpmi5hc7CwvtDQDkGfavQQm48ctxAqsEXNXzArexwVFZAz9a51G3C8Sj27...YCPrrVpyydqCxcscvpo17QiiNJkFrW1t9A2u1TqxfJCg1j3i9FLULFkz4Lf9B2evM4oxmxCtg91avV2DzQBbhTZ2mANbaNwrg6uRFF1Aeiiz3xbrFCmAXe7dqx.png
Assuming I am given a class to teach for 20 miniutes, I will like to teach Junior Secondary school one class ( Jss 1) and the subject I would like to teach them is Physical and Helath Education.
Below is how I am going to plan my lesson before stepping into the class for effective delivery.

Lesson plan for the Week ending 15th - 19th July, 2023

Class: Primary six
Subject: Physical and Health Education
Topic: Growth and Development
Date: 17/7/2024
Duration: 20 Minutes
Age: 10 - 11 years
Gender: Mixed ( boys and girls)
Behavioural Objectives: During and at the end of the end of the lesson, the pupils will be able to:
★ Define growth
★ Explain the meaning of Development
★ State the different stages of development
★ Mention the factors that affect growth and development.

Previous knowledge: The students have experienced growth in many ways, like when they lose the milk teeth and when they out grow their clothes and shoes.
Instructional materials: Wall chart, textbook and whiteboard.
Introduction: I will introduce this lesson by asking the students an open ended questions like, "How have you changed over the years, I mean your physical changes?" "What does it mean to grow?" After hearing the student's responses, I will then let them know that the topic to be considered is growth and development.

StepsLessonsTeacher's activitiesStudent's activities
Step I (3minutes)Meaning of growthI will explain what growth mean to the students. I will also explain the changes a certain individual undergoes be it in length, size and mass.The students will have to pay undivided attention and then explain what growth mean in their own way
Step II (3minutes)Meaning of DevelopmentI will explain the meaning development as the process of growing and what is involved in developmentThe learners will have to explain development in their own way base on what they have learned
Step III (3minutes)Stages of growth in humanI will explain the stages that involved in growth in humanLearners will mention the changes they have seen in themselves and other people around them
Step IV (3minutes)Factors that affect growth and developmentI will explain the factors that affect growth and developmentLearners will mention other things they think can affect growth and development and avoid the ones they think can be avoided
Summary/Conclusion (2minutes)I will summary the lesson by stating the key point from the lesson for students to take noteStudents are expected to asked questions for clearity and jot down the key point from the lesson

Homework

  1. Define development in your own understanding.
  2. State five stages of development.
    Mention and explain some of the factors that affects growth and development.

3V3rr4S3jU49uJ7YGXMfCAW8jdBAMcLpwKuDWQd3Wy8m3RaUDpmi5hc7CwvtDQDkGfavQQm48ctxAqsEXNXzArexwVFZAz9a51G3C8Sj27...YCPrrVpyydqCxcscvpo17QiiNJkFrW1t9A2u1TqxfJCg1j3i9FLULFkz4Lf9B2evM4oxmxCtg91avV2DzQBbhTZ2mANbaNwrg6uRFF1Aeiiz3xbrFCmAXe7dqx.png

Still on assumption, while teaching your students what are the steps you took to ensure they are focused on hearing you, and if for any reason there was a distraction how were you able to tackle the issue?
3V3rr4S3jU49uJ7YGXMfCAW8jdBAMcLpwKuDWQd3Wy8m3RaUDpmi5hc7CwvtDQDkGfavQQm48ctxAqsEXNXzArexwVFZAz9a51G3C8Sj27...YCPrrVpyydqCxcscvpo17QiiNJkFrW1t9A2u1TqxfJCg1j3i9FLULFkz4Lf9B2evM4oxmxCtg91avV2DzQBbhTZ2mANbaNwrg6uRFF1Aeiiz3xbrFCmAXe7dqx.png

To ensure my students remain focused on hearing me, I will make sure they;

  • Know what is expected of them at the end of the lesson and that will mean stating clear objectives for the lesson. I take the following steps:

  • I will need to used interest arousing Introduction by engaging the students and from time to time ask questions and short activities to grab the student's attention.

  • I will make use of visual aid and if I am teaching about animals and other living things I can download short videos for them to see the movement of the living things.

  • I will also present my lessons in a logical and concise manner, making use of real life examples will be of great help.

  • From time to time, I will encourage the students to ask questions and also share their thoughts in the lesson.

  • After asking questions and sharing their thoughts, I will praise them for their effort and contribution.

If distractions set in, I will;

  • I will address the issues immediately and ensure that students do not have side conversation with their fellow students.

  • I will bring back their attention by asking a simple question to engage them.

  • I will adjust the lesson plan to minimise distraction and bring them back to the lesson.

  • I will also try to remain calm while addressing the student so that the learning environment is constructive.

3V3rr4S3jU49uJ7YGXMfCAW8jdBAMcLpwKuDWQd3Wy8m3RaUDpmi5hc7CwvtDQDkGfavQQm48ctxAqsEXNXzArexwVFZAz9a51G3C8Sj27...YCPrrVpyydqCxcscvpo17QiiNJkFrW1t9A2u1TqxfJCg1j3i9FLULFkz4Lf9B2evM4oxmxCtg91avV2DzQBbhTZ2mANbaNwrg6uRFF1Aeiiz3xbrFCmAXe7dqx.png

Recall that you have 20 minutes assigned to you to deliver your lecture or to teach the students, how were you able to manage the time? Share with us how you managed the allocated time.
3V3rr4S3jU49uJ7YGXMfCAW8jdBAMcLpwKuDWQd3Wy8m3RaUDpmi5hc7CwvtDQDkGfavQQm48ctxAqsEXNXzArexwVFZAz9a51G3C8Sj27...YCPrrVpyydqCxcscvpo17QiiNJkFrW1t9A2u1TqxfJCg1j3i9FLULFkz4Lf9B2evM4oxmxCtg91avV2DzQBbhTZ2mANbaNwrg6uRFF1Aeiiz3xbrFCmAXe7dqx.png

clock-5084284_1280.jpg
Source

To manage the 20 minutes assigned to me, I will use the following stategies;

  • I will use 1 minute and quickly state the lesson objectives.

  • I will use 2 minutes for a brief and engaging introduction to arouse the interest of the student for the lesson and grab their attention.

  • For the four steps in my lesson plan above, I will use 3 minutes for each steps making it 12 minutes.

  • I will used 3 minutes for evaluation and in this evaluation, there will be student's participation in answering of questions.

  • I will used 2 minutes for effective summary and conclusion and to answer unexpected questions from the students.

By logically presenting my lesson and a good time management techniques approach, I have been able to cover the leason within the 20 minutes allocated to me for the lesson and productive learning for my students.

3V3rr4S3jU49uJ7YGXMfCAW8jdBAMcLpwKuDWQd3Wy8m3RaUDpmi5hc7CwvtDQDkGfavQQm48ctxAqsEXNXzArexwVFZAz9a51G3C8Sj27...YCPrrVpyydqCxcscvpo17QiiNJkFrW1t9A2u1TqxfJCg1j3i9FLULFkz4Lf9B2evM4oxmxCtg91avV2DzQBbhTZ2mANbaNwrg6uRFF1Aeiiz3xbrFCmAXe7dqx.png

20230530_090915.jpg

Conclusion

Advance preparation is required in micro teaching because a good micro teaching is a powerful tools for effective delivery/teaching, professional development and successful learning by the students. A well prepared and delivered micro teaching will increase student's thinking ability, engagement, understanding and foster academic success. It encourages collaboration and develop different learning styles and build confidence and self esteem.

Sort:  
Loading...

This is our field. No need of accessing your post . You are an excellent Teacher of our time. Keep it up dear.

 23 hours ago 

Thank you so much dear okere-blessing for your kind words and wishes, it means a lot to me.

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

TEAM 2

Congratulations! This post has been voted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts, good comments anywhere and any tags.

Post.jpg


Curated by : @chant

 3 days ago 

Thank you so much dear @chant, I really appreciate your support in my post. I wish you a successful curation day.

My Regards

!upvote 20


💯⚜2️⃣0️⃣2️⃣4️⃣ Participate in the "Seven Network" Community2️⃣0️⃣2️⃣4️⃣ ⚜💯.
This post was manually selected to be voted on by "Seven Network Project". (Manual Curation of Steem Seven).

Not enough voting power.

This is an insightful post on micro-teaching! I appreciate your clear lesson plan and the strategies for keeping students engaged. Your approach to handling distractions and managing time effectively is commendable. The detailed steps and objectives ensure a productive learning experience. Looking forward to more of your educational content!

 23 hours ago 

Thank you so much, the strategies I stated in my article are what works for me in managing my class and I thought it would be of help to share or to my fellow teachers and to also do justice to the homework questions.
I am happy you liked my work 😊.

 3 days ago 

Postingan yang sangat menarik, semua yang anda tulis sangat jelas dan terperinci.
Saya sangat menyukai cara anda membagikan alokasi waktu dan juga cara anda mengatasi siswa yang menganggu dalam proses pembelajaran.

 23 hours ago 

I am glad you like everything I wrote. It really nice to hear that from you. The time allocation for each segment of the lesson helps in effective delivery, helping us when to use much time and when to just run through.
I really appreciate your comment in my post.

Your presentation has shown you're portrait the quality of a good teacher. Am not good in this area, the crown has fit you already, success!

 23 hours ago 

I am blushing 😊 already by saying I portray a good teacher. All thanks to God my dear @bela90, though you are not good in this area, you can still get the most out of it by reading the lesson tutorial and then try to participate. I know you are one of those active steemians in Uyo.

I really like the lesson plan you designed. You made it very detailed and organized. Your classroom management is also outstanding. By providing various ways to make students focus on learning, it is clear that you are very experienced in the classroom. The way you manage your time in this challenge is also very organized and purposeful. I think you were able to carry it out very well.

success for this challenge

 23 hours ago 

Thank you dear @meriseptriyanti, for liking my lesson and appreciating how detailed it is. You kinds words means a lot to me.

My pleasure

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67095.54
ETH 3462.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71