" SEC | S19W2: Micro Teaching "

in Teachers & Students2 months ago

image.png

A good teacher will always do his o her best in the classroom so students can learn something useful before leaving the class. Teaching is one of the nice professions that is meant for those who have the interest of others in their heart being in the classroom you can easily get offended but the ability you control yourself and make sure your students learn something is what is more important.

Assuming you are given a class to carry out Micro Teaching and you have 20 minutes to do this. Using the sample of the lesson plan above prepare a lesson plan. (Take note of the presentation and conclusion columns and present the needed information in them at least 150 words)

Let's say that I am allowed to carry out micro-teaching in JSS 3 class with just 20 minutes, my lesson sample for the micro-teaching will be like what I have presented below.


Lesson Plan

Subject: Business Studies
Topic: Cash Book
Time: 20 minutes
Class: JSS3


Objectives:

  • Student will be able to know the meaning of cash book

  • Students will be able to know the types of cash book

  • Student will be able to know how to prepare cash book


Materials Needed:

  • Whiteboard, chalk or markers

  • Textbook with key points

  • Calculator


TimeContentTeacher ActivityStudent Activity
0-2 minsIntroduction to the lessonI will greet the students introduce the topic: cashbook and explain the objective of the lesson.Student will listen attentively.
3-5 minsDefinition of Cashbook.I will define cash books and explain to them businesses that use cashbooks.I will Take notes of the student's activities.
6-10 minsTypes of CashbookI will Introduce the types of cashbook: single, one, two, three, and four-column cashbook and the items on the cashbook: bank, cash, and discount column.I will observe the attention of the students
11-15 minsCash Book Posting ProcessI will explain and show them how to prepare the column of cashbook and posting method.I will follow up with a diagram if available.
16-18 minsBalancing cashbookI will show them how to post entries in a cashbook.I will engage in the discussion.
19-20 minsConclusion and Question & AnswerI will summarize the key points of the lesson and ask if students have any questions.I will ask questions and clarify doubts.

The above lesson plan means I will begin my class by greeting the students to know how they're feeling before introducing the topic: cashbook. After which I will then define and explain the cashbook to them.

After telling them the meaning of what a cash book is, I will then proceed and explain to them the types of cash books they need to know by showing them examples on the book or diagram of a cash book.

I will explain to them how the cashbook is been prepared and all its columns by writing it on the board for them to see.


Conclusion

This is the point where I will summarize the less as related to the subject topic cashbook. The summary will be based on what I have taught them for the day, which I will then share with the material.


Still on assumption, while teaching your students what are the steps you took to ensure they are focused on hearing you, and if for any reason there was a distraction how were you able to tackle the issue?

1000105512.jpg

I am someone who likes to discipline students as a teacher I will ensure that I will take the necessary steps to ensure my students are focused on hearing me by applying the strategies shared below.

I will set clear expectations: I will let the students know what is expected of them to do before I leave the classroom.

I will be checking the students frequently: I will make sure I throw questions to a student who seems to be a distraction to calm others down. This reminds me of my days in elementary school, how quiet I used to be in the classroom just because I didn't want my teacher to ask me questions.

I will create an interactive environment: To this I will make use of several teaching methods to engage with my students to make them feel interested in the topic.

I will manage the classroom: By managing the classroom I will make sure that I set strict rules that would stop the students from making noise or playing in the class.


In a situation when distraction occurs, I will tackle it by:

I will address the issue immediately: I will be very polite with the students but at the same time be firm when addressing any issue of distraction to stop the impact of the distraction.

Personal Attention/Interaction: To this if a single student is the one causing distraction, I would have a personal discussion with him or her to know the reason for his/her attitude in my class.

I will redirect attention: By doing this I will ask questions related to the topic I am teaching the students to make them pay attention to me.


Recall that you have 20 minutes assigned to you to deliver your lecture or to teach the students, how were you able to manage the time? Share with us how you managed the allocated time.

To this, careful planning is what I need to manage a 20-minute class that is assigned to me to teach my students. Without further ado, below is how I would manage the allocated time that is given to me.


Planning the Class

  • I will outline the content of the topic and clearly define the key points that I want to cover with the students.

  • I will allocate time for each of the discussion of the section. By doing this, I will break down the class into segments by assigning a certain amount of time to each sub-topic.

  • I will plan for discussion and questions to keep my students engaged.


Teaching structure

Introduction: 2 to 3 minutes

  • I will introduce the topic briefly

  • I will state the objective of the topic

Main content of the topic: 12 to 14 minutes

  • I will divide the topic into two points.

  • I will give them a quick example.

  • I will incorporate interaction with the student


Conclusion: 2 to 3 minutes

  • I will summarize the key points of my discussion

  • I will highlight the main takeaway the students need to know

  • I will provide the students the opportunity to ask me questions.

That which I have shared above is how I will carefully manage the 20 minutes that will be given to me to teach my student cashbook which I will make use of stopwatch to monitor my time in the class.

Cc:-
@simonnwigwe
@miftahulrizky
@lil.albab

I am inviting: @dove11, @pelon53, and @dave-hanny

Sort:  
Loading...

Time management is definitely very important in the four walls of a classroom. From the introduction to the presentation onto the interactive sessions of the class each sessions supposed to have a time allocated in order to manage the time given and you have duely clarified that aspect in your post. To achieve this aim, what needs to be done is what you called "Careful Planning". And with this, time management becomes very easy to be achieved.

Definitely why teaching in a classroom they are mainly on various challenges that can be present to disrupt the class activities, but surely, there are ways to handle and manage these challenges. Mainly managing challenges in class will have to be done by immediately addressing the issue, personal attention and interaction as well as being focused and vigilant.

Your lesson plan gives a good view of what a standard one should look like with the introduction of shared time for each stages of teaching to manage the time frame of 20 minutes.

Thanks for sharing

 2 months ago 

Yes you are right with time management as a teacher you can meet up with your expectations on time without further entering into the time of another teacher. Thank you for your support.

You're very much welcome sir ☕✌️😁

 2 months ago 

Greetings dear,

I am really impressed especially by the picture that you have posted with your students it's very pleasure to see them and no doubt you are a hardworking teacher the way you taught lesson to your children and the way of delivery is also very nice and clear.
I must appreciate that you are student get all out of knowledge from you and if I talk about this topic micro teaching every point is just right on on the way as it will be.

I wish you very good luck for the contest.

 2 months ago 

Education is very important and when it comes to teaching a teacher has to give his or her best no matter how the time for the class might be. Thanks for stopping by.

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Nicely written boss, indeed you can manage diligently with the time because your write up here have given us immersely assurence. very clear and interesting.

Nice one and good luck here

 2 months ago 

When it comes to teaching time is very important. Thank you for stopping by

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

 2 months ago 

You prepared the lesson plan very well. As for time management, you are able to manage it very well. If I have the right design, of course, the implementation will be very easy to run. Learning will be more enjoyable if there is interaction between teachers and students so that the students' focus will always be on you. I also like your description of the duties and roles of teachers in the classroom, namely that teachers must be able to control their emotions well because in anything can happen with all the behavior of students.

Good luck to you in this challenge

Copy_of_Curation_Guidelines_20240529_204831_0000.png

We invite you to continue publishing quality content. In this way you could have the option of being selected in the weekly Top of our curation team.

 2 months ago 

Hello friend

You have a beautiful way of teaching, Im glad to hear the lecture on cash book. Its indeed wonderful to see how well you structured your outcome, teaching the kids everything they need to know. You highlighted that how to calm down a distracted child is definitely to throw questions at them to attract their attentions back to class. I truly enjoyed your article and applaud you immensely for a job well done. Kudos to you and success in the dynamics my dear friend

 2 months ago 

Thank you for these warm and sweet words you have dropped on my post. I love teaching anyway.

 2 months ago 

Anda sudah memberikan beberapa langkah bila murid-murid anda melakukan keributan sehingga menggangu pembelajaran. Salut... Semoga anda sukses.

 2 months ago 

I appreciate your good support here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59456.51
ETH 2300.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48