" SEC | S19W2: Micro Teaching "

in Teachers & Students4 days ago (edited)

PXL_20240226_153555803.PORTRAIT.jpg
picture of my microteaching partner @dwings demonstrating

This topic reminds me of when I witnessed my first microteaching on campus. As the name implies in simple terms, it means small teaching where a teacher is expected to teach with limited time and with a small audience. I did mine some months ago and it was very successful. So for the purpose of this contest, I'll be evaluating some things.

Teaching with limited time is one of the factors that affect learning and implementation of the curriculum but this can be tackled if you're strategic. You don't need details in microteaching as it would consume your time and you may not be able to cover main points.

Assuming you are given a class to carry out Micro Teaching and you have 20 minutes to do this. Using the sample of the lesson plan above prepare a lesson plan. (Take note of the presentation and conclusion columns and present the needed information in them at least 150 words)

First of all, my class size would be limited since it's microteaching and then with the 20 minutes given which on a normal is always 40 minutes in normal teaching, I'll be very strategic about this and it would be the structure or layout of my lesson plan which would serve as a guide to good and effective delivery.

Lesson Plan on Chemistry
Subject:Chemistry
TopicPeriodic Table
Class:SS2
GenderMixed
Age14 years +
Duration20 min.
Date17th July, 2024
Behavioural ObjectivesAt the end of the lesson, the students should be able to; - state the modern periodic law, mention at least 10 elements in the periodic table, identify the groups and periods to which each element belong
Instructional MaterialsPeriodic table chart, chemistry textbook and chalkboard
Entry BehaviourStudents have previous knowledge on elements, atoms and compounds
IntroductionHere the teacher introduces the lesson by giving encouragement, motivation and a cheap joke id necessary to make the class lively before commencing his lesson
PresentationYou present the lesson to the students step by step and these steps must be in harmony with your objectives, avoiding detailsExample Step 1: Modern Periodic Law, Step 2: Periodic Table and its elements, Step 3: Groups and Periods of elements in the periodic table
Summary/ConclusionHere the teacher summarises his teaching by asking the students questions as a means of evaluation to get feedback on what was taught to know if the objectives have been met. Example: State the group and period to which the first 5 elements belong. Assignments is very essential for evaluation as well and should be given at the end of the lesson.

I refused to be specific in this lesson plan as to what time I'll be able to cover up a particular objective. You're not lecturing but teaching. Delegating time will help though but not necessary so as not to make the students feel it's a lecture they are receiving as classroom must be interactive and questions shouldn't be kept in suspense to enhance learning and understanding.

If I'm given 20 minutes, my objectives will actually help me avoid details and save time, thereby enhancing critical thinking and interactive learning. The use of an instructional material which is a chart will help explain things for you as you may not necessarily need to say much with the aid. Student factor too do contribute to time consumption. So putting all these in place and striving to meet up the objectives is what I would do.

Sometimes using things they are familiar with like the air we breathe when showing them an element called oxygen and silicon too in form of sand when demonstrating these elements. It facilitates understanding and saves time.

Still on assumption, while teaching your students what are the steps you took to ensure they are focused on hearing you, and if for any reason there was a distraction how were you able to tackle the issue?

Still on assumption, the steps taken to ensure the students aaee focused on hearing me is not to be unnecessarily authoritative while taking full control of the class. While teaching, you can't force students to give you maximum attention except you employ strategies that would help in this. If I'm to ensure focus, I'll be teacher friendly.

  • Teacher friendly: What I mean here isn't to open teeth with the students and laugh with them excessively as it may deviate from main focus. Students are more open and attentive to teachers that have their personal interests at heart. Like I said, I'll start by motivating these students and also chip in a small joke that would wake the class up before teaching. Let the students know why you're in class and why they need to spare their time for you.

PXL_20240627_141457013.PORTRAIT.jpg

  • An interesting class is a class no one would love to miss. I'll make such my class is very much practical and interactive while having full control. If a class is majorly about **taking notes, long talks etc, students may feel bored and divert their attention to something else. This is what I'll tackle when teaching to bring up that level of focus which enhances learning among students

PXL_20240530_100113622.jpg

  • Focused is left when students don't understand what you're teaching or they aren't following. I'll try my best to ensure I start from the simplest to the most complex by using things they are familiar with to enhance my explanation. Focusing on those who are brighter academically and leaving the dull ones behind usually bring about lack of focus and disturbance as those dull ones will feel left out in the teaching process and then to do other things.

PXL_20240523_100839448.jpg

If by any chance there's distraction or disturbance, I'll still be strategic by.......

  • imposing a form of punishment that would scare those disturbing. I can say anyone caught making noise or disturbing in my class will come out and teach the class. No one would want to be spotlighted this way and the distraction would be minimal.
PXL_20240610_095950270.jpgA student distracting while class is ongoing
  • not being too dramatic which would make you lose control of the class. The use of an authority too makes them compose themselves while maintaining decorum. I'll also ask abrupt questions like; what was my last statement to those distracting to see if they were following.
  • requesting notes should be submitted at the end of the class otherwise punishment would be served. This helps students copy notes in class and prevent disturbance which may be as a result of not copying notes or not having particular interest in the class.
IMG_20240605_110808.jpgA student who lost interest in the teaching process

These are some ways I'll be strategic as a teacher to enhance effective teaching and learning in my class. Some behaviours I do observe in students during teaching is that most of them do - sleep, eat, make noise, play, gist, or write other notes that doesn't concern the class.

Remembering I have 20 minutes will make me lay my foundation before the begining of the class to avoid distractions during the class which prevents time consumption.

Recall that you have 20 minutes assigned to you to deliver your lecture or to teach the students, how were you able to manage the time? Share with us how you managed the allocated time.

I had 20 minutes to deliver the topic Periodic table. I managed this time by not being objective in class or rushing the objectives to meet up the curriculum. I'll give a breakdown on how I started.

  • Managing my 20 minutes requires I set a good foundation in class before the lesson commences to avoid time consumption. I then used 3 minutes out of the 20 minutes given to make my class lively by motivating and encouraging these students with speeches and cheap jokes. After making sure my class is lively, I go straight to introducing the topic in question. I have 17 minutes
    IMG_20240627_125714.jpg

  • Using 2 minutes to introduce the topic and use familiar things related to the topic to enhance effective introduction is what I'll spare to maintain attentiveness and focus.

  • Explaining the modern period law and the periodic table as a whole would take me just 4 minutes. Leaving me with 11 minutes.

  • Using 4 minutes to deliberate on major elements in the periodic table [1-10] and their arrangements in the periodic table is what I'll be strategic about. I'll also give room for use of instructional material which would be passed on while teaching is ongoing. I have 7 minutes left.

PXL_20240226_153831597.PORTRAIT.jpgThe use of instructional materials
  • I'll use 4 minutes to lay a foundation on what groups and periods are in the periodic table and how to identify the groups and periods of these elements without the use of the periodic table. This would be interactive a bit.

  • Lastly, I'll use 3 minutes to summarise the lesson, give room for questions and then ask mine to see the lesson is understood

PXL_20240226_121027667.PORTRAIT.jpg
I've achieved my three objectives using this limited time given me and I was very strategic about the lesson, trying as much as possible to avoid details. The picture above shows me having completed my microteaching presentation of which we were given 5 minutes to teach and we were to teach the lecturers who groomed us on how to be effective while managing time.

Teaching is not an easy work as it requires time but the limited time given can be utilised in such a way that it enhances understanding and learning. Starting small like this will prepare you for large class size and how to manage .

Most pictures here are used majorly to convert idea and not just the physical representation. Since microteaching has to do with teaching fewer students, these pictures are used to convey ideas of what can be seen during the teaching process.

I invite @dwings, @artist1111 and @soulfuldreamer

Sort:  
Loading...
 2 days ago 

Strategi yang sangat bagus, bukan seberapa banyak waktu yang diperlukan untuk memberi materi, akan tetapi seberapa efesien kita menggunakan waktu untuk memberi materi.
Saya juga sangat setuju dengan pendapat anda, jangan terlalu banyak memberi penjelasan karena akan membuat anak-anak bosan dan menghilangkan minat anak untuk belajar .
Semoga anda sukses terus dan selalu bahagia

image.png
CONGRATULATIONS!!

This post has been upvoted - Steem's Angels with @steemcurator09/ Curated by: @ruthjoe

 2 days ago 

Terimakasih untuk dukungannya@ruthjoe

 yesterday 

Exactly. You just placed emphasis on this. This is the reason I found most of my lectures boring because the teacher didn't explain well and was always giving lengthy lectures that I couldn't comprehend.

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

 3 days ago 

Saya setuju dengan anda sebelum memulai pelajaran beri sedikit stimulus pada anak, dengan cara lelucon atau pertanyaan yang membuat mereka memberi respon, di situlah pelajaran sudah bisa di mulai. Semoga sukses bosj23

 3 days ago 

Exactly on point. Thanks a lot for this additional boost comment. If these were the attributes of teachers in my days, I definitely would have been intentional about education to the core.

 2 days ago 

Indeed we all must try in our most possible way to make this really work. You are a great teacher and I'm greatly impressed. Using the natural elements like oxygen we breathe and silicon could also be a way of making it practical for students t understand more properly too. I enjoyed every bit of your article and success in the dynamics

 yesterday 

Yeah, you are on point as well. Most times people get to forget unfamiliar things but using things they are familiar to give illustrations on unfamiliar things can enhance learning and improve understanding. Thanks for sharing.

Dear friend I appreciate the emphasis on interactive learning and student engagement. The strategies for managing time effectively and keeping students focused are practical and insightful. Your use of familiar examples and instructional materials enhances understanding and makes the lesson more relatable. Great work!

 yesterday 

It really does. Reasons why students would be very effective in my class. Thanks for the comment. I really appreciate

 4 hours ago 

Dear friend your already a teacher due to which you have presented that article very beautifully and shared a very unique topic with us. I wish you very good luck 🤞

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66899.66
ETH 3464.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80