SEC | S19W2: Micro Teaching

Not every good student can become a good teacher, right? Teaching or mentoring isn't everyone's forte. Imparting demanding skills that shape a promising future is one of the most challenging forms of teaching, wouldn't you agree? Despite this, I am proud of myself for being an effective mentor and tutor to my students. (This is based on their feedback, not my own bragging.)

Micro-teaching is a method where teachers practice teaching with a small group of students for a short period. It helps in honing teaching skills, managing classrooms, and effectively using allocated time. Let me take you through the micro-classes I conducted in late June this year. These sessions were highly requested by my juniors, hence a good content of mine to participate in this challenge.


Session Details:

Dates:Saturday & Sunday, June 30-31, 2024
Time:4:00 PM to 4:20 PM sharp
Participants:7 first-year MBBS students
Mode of Delivery:Online via Google Meet on a laptop
Topic:Types of Basic Research
Preparation:Slides created on PowerPoint, utilizing my own knowledge, information from Google, and references from my research)

1.jpg


Session Breakdown:

SectionTimeDescription
Introduction4 minutesUnderstanding students' perspectives on research, its significance in the medical field, and their existing knowledge.
Presentation2 minutesSharing my perspective and introducing the types of basic research.
Explanation4 minutesCovering LTE, criticism and informative, short communication, and correspondence through slides.
Deep Dive10 minutesFocusing on informative LTE and assigning homework to find a new trending topic for an informative LTE.

Day 2


Preparation Review:

All the students came prepared with two topics each. We discussed their validity and also the importance in respective filed before the actual class began. This clearly demonstrates their understanding of the previous session.


Reflections:

Conducting these micro-classes was really a very rewarding experience. The students' enthusiasm and active participation showed their grasp of the material. I faced some difficulties and multiple challenges in keeping the session within the time limit but tried my best to manage it by focusing on key points and encouraging student interaction.

2.jpg3.jpg

The feedback from the students was positive, highlighting that they found the sessions engaging and informative. This experience helped me refine my teaching methods and better manage the classroom environment.


Conclusion:

Micro-teaching is a powerful tool for improving teaching skills in a very limited time. It allows teachers to practice and receive timely feedback in a controlled environment. I encourage educators to embrace micro-teaching and continuously seek ways to enhance their teaching techniques. Thankyou

I’d like to invite @huzaifanaveed1 , @kouba01 and @steemdoctor1 to participate in this challenge. Thankyou


Regards,
@abdu.navi03

Sort:  

You're a wonderful teacher there's no doubt about it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68156.06
ETH 3517.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81