Terrible movie sequels

Normally I only write about video games but the other day I was watching Babe 2: Pig in the city and what a load of crap that film was. The original was so heartwarming and wonderful that of course they were going to make a sequel even though it wasn't necessary.

Babe 2: Pig in the City


While some critics praised the film I think that a lot of that had to do with the fact that they entered an urban environment and now there was a "city theme." Since most of these critics are themselves city folk, and also in love with themselves and their city this appealed to them. However, Babe doesn't actually do a whole lot in the movie, there doesn't really seem to be much of a plot. Also, much of the humor and dark overtones of the original are completely missing from the story.


src

The film was wildly unpopular globally and lost over 20 million dollars off their enormous 90 million dollar budget before you even factor in marketing costs. It's unfortunate I guess, but this wouldn't be the only time that a sequel tarnished a film's legacy, and Babe isn't even the worst one.

Lost Boys: The Tribe

The original movie lives in infamy and is basically loved by everyone for being one of the few times that vampires in a modern setting were actually cool and not covered in sparkles. The sequel was again, totally unnecessary and even the people that made it obviously felt as much since they devoted almost no budget to creating it at all.

wp3996749.jpg
src

Released a full 21 YEARS after the original, the straight-to-DVD production did manage to make its money back and I think an awful lot of that was based purely on the anticipation created by the original. This movie stars almost no one you've ever heard of other than Corey Feldman who had long since been forgotten by Hollywood anyway. Even Cory Haim (who would be dead shortly after this film) is in it, although just for a cameo.

It was because of these reasons that I bothered to watch it at all and while my "watching" quickly became "scanning' I realized that although I don't think it was intentional, this film is a comedy. I think it could have been a lot better if they had fully embraced it as a comedy rather than trying to be dark, scary, or serious at any point.

Based on the success of this film and that they sold over a million copies of the DVD they greenlit a 3rd film, which I am not going to watch.

Speed 2

Keanu Reeves refused to be in the movie after reading the script, which I would imagine he didn't really read all of anyway. The film, as I am sure you are aware, is basically the first one but on a cruise ship instead of a bus. The fact that Reeves and Bullock's relationship is simply transferred to a different hero persona in Jason Patric (who?)

Despite universal disdain exhibited by viewers and critics, the movie managed to be number 1 at the box office and made back it's massive budget of an estimated 150 million dollars. After breathing a sigh of relief the producers and directors and probably everyone involved agreed that there would be no third movie.

There has been some talk lately about Speed 3 and in an interview Reeves said that he would do it. Bullock hasn't been approached about it as far as I know and since she and Reeves are two of the most bankable stars in the film industry at the moment it does seem unlikely they would actually say yes. Plus, what are they gonna do? Have a plane involved? My hopes are bicycles.


That's enough for now but if you have any other sequels that you can think of that also sucked I would love to talk about it!

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 9 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 10 SBD worth and should receive 32 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Speed 2 wasn't itself a terrible movie. It was made terrible because the notion that the same thing would happen to the same person twice is absurd. I can totally understand why Reeves turned it down and Bullock wasn't the huge star she is today back then and was likely happy to have a big film under the belt.

It was bizarre her taking off on a new romance as well.

I was unaware there even WAS another Lost Boys film. I may actually cruise though that while I clean my house just to see how bad it is.

I agree with you on Babe 2... the first one was an amazing film and the 2nd one was an obvious cash grab.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63498.69
ETH 2645.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80