Donnie Darko (2001) - psychological & thrilling


Thank you @ibesso for sharing
'Donnie Darko' with me
After The Trips of A Crazy Mind


Donnie darko.jpg

Who's Donnie I like to know. If I watch the family at the dining table I feel sorry for him. What a life that boy has, the family is nagging him, treating him like an idiot and not interested in hearing what he has to say.

Did you take your medication - visit the psychiatrist - he doesn't take his pills - Donnie is crazy.

While watching all I can think of is: what a crazy family. The lack of bonds, understanding, not listening to each other, a mother who cares more about what other moms say about her than her children, the youngest daughter is a snitch and the eldest only cares about herself. Donnie is right if he says: why don't you pay the psychiatrist to listen to her?

What I see is Donnie being part of the wrong family, a teenager that would perfectly fit into mine. No matter how hard I try I can't figure out the 'troubling' part. There's nothing dark about this teenager.
Indeed Donnie is sleepwalking but he isn't the only one. My guess is he has a lot on his mind which is normal for an intelligent child. This teenager is what every parent should be proud of, he's smart, intelligent, thinks, and questions. It's how I have been raised, how my grandparents raised their children and I raised mine.
The teachers this boy trusts, likes and is close with don't think Donnie has a sick mind. They have good discussions although it's clear each one of them fears being punished. For the teachers, it's being sacked and for Donnie, it means a higher dose of pills.

Best parts:

  • Donnie's dad's grinning face after they leave school and are reprimanded, he wants to reward his son. So would I.
  • Dad telling his son "you are not crazy, I used to be crazy.... all those people are full of shit".

To those who love symbolism you can knock yourself out! This film is a masterpiece if it comes to that. The book the class reads, the stupid video lessons, the 'seminar' given by a paedophile, the nickname of the elderly, a former teacher, 'Death', the title of the film Donnie and his girlfriend watch and the two words the teacher wrote on the blackboard before she leaves. Each detail perfectly matches the story which says a lot, if not everything, about the one who wrote the script and directed this film (Richard Kelly).

Is Donnie a fruitcake, a troublemaker, is he troubled at all? All I see is a quiet, shy boy, a polite and attentive teenager, one who tries to hang in. Once the new girl in town - Gretchen - says 'yes' if he asks her to be his girlfriend Donnie changes, he becomes more assertive and what I find amazing is how he and she seem to understand each other perfectly.

I read and saw a few reviews about this film and what nearly each one of them had in common was they said Donnie saw a rabbit called Frank. Those who watched this film know Frank is human and just wearing a suit with an ugly mask, the mask of a bunny that might suggest it's from the future. Donnie does not speak to a rabbit and those who say that did not watch the film. That rabbit mask... How I wish they had used another picture to advertise this film and for the cover of the DVD since to me it's not attractive, it doesn't trigger me to watch it.

It feels to me Donnie is not pleased if it comes to visiting the psychotherapist but he goes and even shares what's on his mind. I have mixed feelings if it comes to the visits, the doctor isn't really listening and to her, the teenager is good as a genuine pig. She's old-fashioned, feels easily embarrassed and her knowledge is based on old theories. In her behaviour toward the parents she shows a more professional style although what she says doesn't make sense considering the facts Donnie's "problems" start while sleepwalking and... she's prescribing him placebos.

What is it we are watching? Is it SF, a thriller, drama, about time travelling? Has this boy a gift, does he see through people, foresees the future, can it be he has multiple personalities, does he travel forth to and back from the future while he is 'asleep' or is the entire film just a dream, his dream? To me, it's not clear. All I see is the story of an intelligent young man trying to figure out who Frank is if there's something wrong with him, and why he awakes (far) away from home after he goes to bed.
The film ends kind of how it started except Donnie dies (his world came to an end) in bed after a plane loses its motor and drops on his bed(room). What happened in between is up to those who watch with an open mind, preferably without reading what the film should be about first. To me this is not what I would call SF but it's definitely worth watching.


Header: Canva
Videos: YouTube
12-3-2024
I am a mobile phone user only


PhotoGrid_1613071815865.png

#steemexclusive #movies #review #club5050 #streaming #kittywu #film #holland #burnsteem25

Sort:  

yes yes yes yes you did! what a joy, I will read it this evening very calmly. Great Kitty!

Your review of "Donnie Darko" offers a unique and deeply humanistic perspective, empathetically highlighting character dynamics rather than dwelling only on sci-fi themes. I appreciate your ability to peer beyond the obvious, enriching the understanding of the film through detailed and personal analysis. Thank you for sharing your original and inspiring vision, which celebrates the art of cinema in new and unexpected ways. have a good day!👋

I am, my family is, used to face the world through different eyes and so do we if we watch films. If cinema will benefit from it, it might be good if they want to survive the next 10 years to allow different critics/reviews have room it might attract way more people.

Well, this one is dedicated to you. I thought I read about a 2nd film, I'll check if it's true.

Thank you for reading and your valuable comment.

Enjoy the day with a smile and good film.

❤️🍀

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

Hi. Do you use Discord?

How can I contact you?

No, I don't use discord I post links on X or you can send me a gmail wakeupkitty@

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

Perfect!

Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61533.72
ETH 3447.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51