Squid Game (season 1) - ReviewsteemCreated with Sketch.

I've recommended this show to all my friends, and now I recommend it to you, Steemit community.

This Korean series is about a competition with high stakes and high rewards that a desperate group of people enter, feeling they have nothing to lose. It's a perfect combination of funny and dark, so much so that I could hardly peel myself away.

The concept is intriguing enough, and I'd glad it was still a fairly light viewing. I was hesitant when I first heard about it, worrying it would be too dark and tragic, but I only had to cover my eyes once. Otherwise, it was an easy watch, even with how invested I got in some of the characters.

The main guy, however, is not one of them. I spent most of the show yelling at the screen. Within the first five minutes you'll be shaking your head at his poor decisions. He remains a good protagonist, still a child at heart, but man do I wish I could slap some sense into him!

Overall, the show was entertaining and very well done, but don't take my word for it, try out the first episode - after that, there's only eight more. Soon enough you'll be screaming at your screen and laughing with me.

Netflix-Squid-Game-poster.jpg

Sort:  

Great series and one of the best rides I have been on in 2021. I can't say I really liked the ending but I suppose they needed to end on a note that makes a season 2 possible if they want it.

I didn't like it either! I think it would have been better for them to end it there, but if they do a season 2 I hope it does the show justice.

Already watched this one and no, I didn't yell at the screen, First part I found boring and I forced myself to keep watching. I'm not sure if this is my kind of movie but the more you watch it the better it gets. I just don't think all those people joined because they have nothing to lose, they did because of the money. It was greed.

Interesting! I loved it from the start, but I definitely became more invested as it went on.
I do think it was greed at first, but for the people that stayed and continued, I can see them as feeling they have nothing to lose and/or thinking they are somehow special and will be the one who wins when the likelihood of that isn't looking great.
I'd love to win that prize money, but not if I have to risk my life for it!

If there's nothing to lose, you only have debts does it matter if you risk your life? That's what I wonder about. At first, you might not care since you have no idea what will happen, perhaps it doesn't matter if you are desperate? Once the game continues I believe greed increases and with that people show their real nature as well.
Thanks for commenting.

that's true, they got more competitive as they went and cared less about the loss of human life and more about the reward. Hopefully it's an exaggeration of human greed and would not play out the same in reality!
Thanks for sharing your thoughts :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60748.61
ETH 2912.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36