The Witcher (season 1) - ReviewsteemCreated with Sketch.

in Netflix & Streaming3 years ago (edited)

I expected the show to be similar to Game of Thrones, with all the headlines I was seeing about it before it's release, but didn't find it was. You could tell this show resembled a video game, and lacked the seriousness of Game of Thrones, but that's not a bad thing. What they did have in common was being set in fantasy worlds during medieval times, showing gruesome content, and curse words - which are always fun.

The casting was good and I was impressed by quite a few actor, but I haven't played the video games to know how well it matches up.

The storyline was good, albeit the timeline confusing. I couldn't tell something was happening in the past or future until someone mentioned it directly. It wasn't just a flashback or two, but a constant back and forth between different times, which made it tedious to try and lay out all the events in order. I know they had good reason to do this, but I think they relied on it a little too much.

Still, it was a great show overall, and one thing I really love about it is that it has just been released and already everyone has seen it. It gives us something to connect over, especially in this post-GoT world. Social media has been flooded with The Witcher memes, and people have been starting conversations by asking if I have seen the show, like that's even a question. I just can't believe they're making us wait so long for a season 2!

SPOILERS PAST THIS POINT

WATCH BEFORE READING ON!

002.jpg

The Witcher revolves mainly around Geralt, Yennefer and Cerilla, and I'd say that's one reason it was such a success. Geralt doesn't say much, but it's impossible to not love him. Yennefer is complicated, but you have to respect her strength. And Ciri is the child that you want to protect, even though she clearly doesn't need it.

Getting to see the three of them come together in season 2 is going to be well worth the wait. Geralt finally facing his destiny, and Ciri fulfilling hers. I don't know yet where Yennefer fits in but with the way her character left off, girl has lots of potential. I hope she finds a way to have a baby.

The three of them would be such a powerful trio.

The bard is pretty funny too, I love his and Geralt's love hate relationship. It was especially funny when Geralt used his first wish to shut the bard up. I can't blame him.

The monster killing aspect of the show died down after the first few episodes, sadly. I liked seeing how he outsmarted the striga and saved a child. But after that, it turned more into a show about magic and destiny, which actually reminded me more of Merlin than GoT.

I'm also interested in the politics of their world, even though Geralt is not. The way the mages function (especially that thing with the eels), the different kingdoms, and the way Nilfgaard wants to take over under the guise of it being to help people are all things I want to dive deeper into.

Maybe I should go buy the game.

001.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63376.37
ETH 3089.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82