Close Enough on Netflix

in Netflix & Streaming4 years ago

There are a ton of animated series intended for adult audiences on Netflix. It seems as though a new one comes along every week or so and while Netflix does not create most of them (the originate at HBO or some other place) they end up being the home for these series soon thereafter.

While there is a market for this sort of thing I feel as though this genre is just saturated and you need to be something super stellar to stand out. Perhaps that is why I feel so "meh" about Close Enough


src

The story behind this is something that has been done before in both live-action and animation: I suppose it is something that a lot of people can relate to as it focuses on a couple in their early 30's who are struggling with accepting the fact that they are no longer young and cool. They try to remain young and hip but are now parents and have adult stuff they have to do.

I think that anyone in their 30's goes though that and for many it might be something that they find humorous but for me I kind of felt as though F is for Family did a better job on the humor front.

They do a lot of "Family Guy" - style transitions where they jump back and forth in time to various situations that are related to the current day story in the show but it's different in the fact that their scenarios are not ludicrous like they are in Family Guy... and I understand why they wouldn't do that because if they DID copy that it would be pointed out immediately.


src

The plots of each episodes are not necessarily connected in the 1 season that exists and mostly it is something very common for all younger people: Things like financial anxiety or not really knowing how to be a parent but doing your best anyway. Then every now and then something totally crazy happens such as robot invasions.

For me it was just another link in what I perceive to be a "too big" chain of shows that are all pretty similar in nature.

There isn't that much in the way of reviews for this show on popular review sites. On Rotten Tomatoes for example, there are only 12 reviews and they are all 100%. Anytime that happens I am a bit apprehensive to believe they are genuine.

Should I watch it?


Close Enough has some laughs in it but they don't come often enough. I don't know if this series stands out enough from the plethora of shows out there that are very similar to it. Therefore, I can only say that people might want to have a look at an EP or two and decide for themselves. Each one is only 22 minutes long and like I mentioned, each episode is its own story, so you can just jump in anywhere.

For me, one and half episodes was enough for me to walk away, probably never to return.

50119633_m.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 17 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 7 SBD worth and should receive 36 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

if you ever watch it, is it worth it? like rick and morty?

I would say it has almost nothing in common with Rick and Morty

I would say it has
Almost nothing in common
With Rick and Morty

                 - netflixr


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

i remember there was an animated series that was made by the same people that did, i wanna say the Simpsons, called Disenchanted (I think). It was a fantasy comedy animated series and it just wasn't funny or good. It's pretty hard to get these things right.

you were close. it is called Disenchantment and I too think it was a pretty poor series.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57960.12
ETH 2482.73
SOL 155.31
SBD 2.43