Arcane: Main Jinx from the BETA

in Netflix & Streaming3 years ago (edited)



I have never been a good player of MOBA genre games, the first game of this style that I played in my life (and I'm sure that most people who know this genre, it is the same for them) is DOTA, but the DOTA version of Warcraft 3, since I never played DOTA 2. However, many years ago, I played League of Legends and compared to DOTA it was much more "friendly" in many aspects, both visually and mechanically, compared to DOTA I felt that LOL was a bit easier, however you still needed to have a lot of skill to play well. But my interaction with LOL only lasted a couple of months and, as I have already mentioned, besides the fact that I am not a good player of this style of games, it also bored me a little, in its time (and I think it still remains today) the community behind this game was quite toxic and intense, being this an aspect, although a minor aspect, of why I stopped playing it.



Over the years Riot Games has forged an impressive trajectory, as it is not only a company focused on video games, it is also a company focused on entertainment in general, from creating music using their characters in different musical genres, from K-POP, Metal, Rap, among others, currently Riot Games is one of the most important video game companies in the industry. Even creating new games with different types of genres from the next Fighting Game and even a MMORGP based on the universe of League of Legends, which could be the top candidate to be the opponent of World of Warcraft and with all the controversy behind Activion Blizzard, perhaps in the future this future promise of MMORGP end up dethroning the unbeatable WOW.

However, this post will not be focused on the trajectory of Riot Games, but on their most recent success and product: Arcane, a series based on the League of Legends universe and that tells us the origins of some of the most emblematic and beloved characters of LOL. I didn't know about the existence of this series until a couple of weeks after its premiere, I didn't even see a trailer before sitting down to watch the episodes, so I entered this new series totally blind and my surprise was huge.



Not only in terms of animation it is spectacular, reminding me a little of the animation style seen in the best Spiderman movie ever made: Into the Spiderverse, but also in terms of plot, which despite not being something spectacular, is very well thought out, because you do not need to know the official Lore of this game, since besides the fact that in this series they changed many aspects and improved many elements of the official Lore of League of Legends, the whole plot from beginning to end is very well developed. We are presented with a very unique universe, with a lot of future and excellent characters. Although I am sure that if you are a player of this game for many years and you know some things of the official Lore, being able to see certain elements in each chapter, from winks and references, makes the experience much more special, although I still enjoyed it despite not knowing anything about the series.

Has the game League of Legends been the longest advertising campaign for a series in history? I think so... jokes aside, Arcane is an excellent series, with a unique atmosphere, with a spectacular acting level in the main characters and with an outstanding animation style.

Sort:  

I would imagine that LoL got many more users because of this show. I agree, the series is outstanding and I hope they can continue this excellence moving forward.

I am very much looking forward to the second season

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64105.03
ETH 2757.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66