Chips

in CCC2 years ago (edited)

Because I had potatoes, I tried to make my own fries. It didn't work and I don't understand why. I peeled the potatoes, cut them, put them in salted water (this was in the recipe). Then I pre-fried them at about 160 degrees for about 4 minutes. With me, the chips did colour, so I returned the temperature to 140 degrees Celsius. The second time I baked them at 180 degrees Celsius, they were crispy for 2 seconds and then they became limp, so it was not a success. I did everything exactly as the recipe says but something is wrong.

Today I watched a video about how the fries for Mcdonald's are baked. It does not say exactly what is done but later I read that the fries are blanched. I had also found such a recipe and it turns out that the EU thinks we should blanch Chips. This would be healthier. Frankly, I do not believe that the EU cares at all about whether people are healthy. Health has not been promoted in recent years. When the EU and the WHO are putting people on drugs en masse and using them as guinea pigs for experimental injections in which people literally drop dead and not develop cancer and the most dreadful diseases, they should not be whining about the danger of the fried potato.

Another video about McDonald's fries (the old ones and chemical new ones)

Many pictures and articles later, I have come to the conclusion that home-fried Chips look completely different from those you get at a snack bar, fast food restaurant or when you buy them frozen (and pre-fried). Are all these fries processed?

My second attempt at frying fries was as follows.
Peel the potatoes, cut them and put them in hot water (not on the boil) for 30 minutes. Then drain and dry further on a tea towel.
After the chips were at room temperature (which is pretty cold for me) I pre-fried them at 140 degrees Celsius. This should take 8 minutes. I did it for 4 minutes because the chips were already discoloured.
Then I let the chips drain and put them on kitchen paper (which I find expensive).
A few hours later I put some in the airfryer (the result was disappointing), put some in the frying pan (without oil, keep stirring) it looked more like it but it didn't stay crispy. I put the last few in the oven (200 degrees, about 15 minutes, keep stirring) and these fries were the best.

I think there must be a faster way. I find making my own fries quite laborious and this way it becomes quite expensive. Isn't there an easier way?
Tomorrow or the day after I will try something else. Maybe just blanch and then deep-fry once, maybe cut a bit thinner and use some new oil.
Baking really good chips from potatoes is not as easy as people say, but a jacket potato is easier and tastier.


Perhaps I should try to add some cornflour too or better cornstarch?

Sort:  


Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator07.
Curated By - @patjewell
Curation Team - The7up
Increase your CSI score to get further support

Thank you very much.
What is a CSI score?

 2 years ago 

An interesting entry.
Thank you for sharing your C.

CCC_1643050958790.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62324.87
ETH 2419.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65