What today (October 23, 2020) means to me? 2.20

in CCC4 years ago (edited)

Autumn - Apple pie (gluten-free)

Today the Autumn holiday started. I woke up early and heard the kid in the living. I decided to stay in bed. It's warmer and there's no need to get out early so why not?
It took longer before I slept again. I thought about the surprise I need to finish, felt dizzy and after that the depression came. I wonder if it has to do with a lack of a certain hormone, vitamin or mineral. I feel better most likely thanks to the gluten-free diet but am taking fewer vitamins because altogether it costs too much plus I want to safe some for the winter. It doesn't mean I don't take them but just like my water/fluid intake it's reduced with about 60% lately.
Once I woke up the angry thoughts came over me like a cloud. It always happens if I do things automatically (in this case a game on my phone) like gardening. I always had it and it's good to discover yourself. For sure forgiveness isn't the same as forgetting and if you can'forget it stays with you. Something we all deal with especially those who claim they forgave... How hypocrites can be, we even lie to ourselves and ignore who we really are. Well, not me. I dragged me out of bed and got dressed. It's better to be active, stay active plus it doesn't rain. Time for the laundry. The youngest her bedsheets and all the white (school) clothes.
One of my daughters became ill and she went to work. "We need to wear a facemask anyway and I doubt it is the coronavirus. My symptoms are different, it's just the flu. The chef doesn't think either it is covid-19. It's the 4th day and I'm feeling better already I only need to catch up 3 days work which I am behind."
I assume this means working three days and nights?

PhotoGrid_1603449038813.jpg

I had a late breakfast with the last piece of gluten-free apple pie. I stuck to the old recipe just changed wheat flower into 50% cornflour and 50% spelled flour. The pie turned out to be great although, the oven let me down again. The children said they can't tell the difference (most likely because it's a long time ago I made apple pie).

To those who like to make it too.
Ingredients for the dough:

  • 200 grams of real butter
  • 100 grams of sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg
  • 100 grams of cornflour
  • 100 grams of spelled flour

Make a dough out of it and if it's too sticky add some extra flour.
I cut the dough ball into slices (easy does it) to fill the baking mold.

PhotoGrid_1603448900602.jpg

Filling:

  • 4-6 apples in small pieces
  • cinnamon
  • raisins if you like
  • 1/2 egg to add at the top

1/3 of the dough is needed to close the pie.

PhotoGrid_1603448990913.jpg

Oven: 200°C - 40 minutes.
My oven only has a hear underneath and no thermostat. Usually you put an apple pie like this low in the oven. I shove it in the middle. After 40 minutes mine wasn't ready (the temperature dropped) and I added extra baking time. Because spelled flour isn't white and it's more difficult to see if it's colored, I used a stick to test the dough. After the baking time was up I left the apple pie in the oven to cool down. If you like you can add peach marmalade at the top. My granny did but it's too sweat for me. You can eat it with whipped cream if you like or sprinkle some powder sugar over the top.

!

More plans for today? Besides the laundry, feeding wolves and the surprise not really. I need to find a place to be undisturbed which isn't easy with the children at home and in a cold house. I must admit the more time passes by the more I need to motivate myself to start again, it's easier to write. On days I am just tired and this is one of these days. It's good to do not too much for a change although it doesn't feel like a holiday to me.

It's Friday October 23, 2020. This is my entry to the CCC contest What does today mean to me? 2.20. This contest should start on last Wednesday October 21, 2020. Due to a bad connection I post it. I can't find the new contest. @freedomshift I hope you are alright.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97