You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ninth Challenge: Tell me... week 4.44

in CCC2 years ago

Unexpectedly I have to tell a lot about my garden. A short growing season, still cold and the seeds aren't so successful it's half of April already. I'll be back with my garden entry.

Happy Eastern!

💖🍀

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

How wonderful! I love that you got to tell about your garden. I don't think it has been that successful though. Let me tell you that my sowings have not been very good either, the lack of water, the lack of organic fertilizers and the pests attack more and more my seeds, sowings and transplants day by day.

That sounds bad. It's years ago I had a good harvest. Perhaps the seeds are not okay? I intend to grow more inside because of pests and ants but don't know how or what yet. Hopefully, we have a better harvest this year. I can tell you plants are easier than food.

You should start making compost heaps in your garden so you don't need fertilizer!

 2 years ago 

I don't buy fertilizers, what happens is that the translator writes what he thinks.
I buy black soil from river banks, dry sticks and other nutrients, then I mix them and it is very nice to grow all kinds of plants.

That doesn't sound different from compost. 👍

 2 years ago 

I make the compost with the remains of my vegetables and dried leaves and branches that I remove from my plants.

To buy and make my bags of compost without fertilizers I buy dry tree trunks and soil from the river banks. I also add some earth from worm castings. These soils thus prepared I put them in bags to sell and also add them to my plants, but I have not been able to go out to buy because I do not have a borrowed vehicle or a car that pays for the transportation of the bags.

Sorry for the late reply. I'm digging a lot in my garden lately. I mainly use the soil in it and add leaves to it. I have a lot of them partly changed into compost already. The new compost heaps I might use next year or within two years I don't know. I have some parts where I put trunks or wood from the trees or cut them down for the stove. Notice yesterday and today a spot where it looks more like peat. I have peat too on the roof tyles so if I have time I'll remove it and add it to my compost heap. Variety is the key but I don't have much kitchen scraps and can only use a few egg scales (the rest I save for the chickens or us, hope those chickens will arrive in May) next to it I have ash (potash) saved from the stove during winter but I'm not sure yet if I need it. The soil is not everywhere the same and to some plants, it's not needed or it will even harm them.
I will add the use pot soil to it too once I replant the plants or they die so I can use it again next year or next year. Keeping a diary and will see if I'm able to grow anything and what the bottlenecks are. At the moment it's rain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 57983.59
ETH 3132.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44