Looking back - gardening & onions

in CCC2 years ago (edited)

To be honest I find it hard to keep my crops alive.
The first potatoes... Nothing came out of it. I don't know what I did wrong. There are more potatoes but I didn't found the courage to dig in the soil again.

This morning I dug in the old well where I planted my first onions. They are not very big but altogether it's fine. I left two behind and planted the, once bought old, onion seeds left into it. Everything that comes out of it is fine.

I decided to ignore the "rules" of planting and harvesting and just give it a try. The warmest days are over or at least the days are getting shorter which means the planted onions might grow a bit faster now and won't be in too much need of water.

Do I need onions?
To be honest we hardly ate them in the past years. Today I can again with frikandel, lettuce, egg salad, tomato soup or perhaps homemade onion cheese bread.

I hope to grow new onions, bigger ones, within 3-4 months time. I think this must be possible.
I don't know how others do it, how much and frequently I need to water but I learned it's way more and frequently as they say. Once or even twice a day during summer isn't enough.

20220815_105303.jpgonions drying in the sun. I noticed on the market and shops many new onions are not dried at all. It's enough for people who rarely eat onions.

See @wakeupkitty for this contest about looking back and/or look forward to.

Sort:  

Build the garden of information 🌱👩‍🌾👨‍🌾

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60453.64
ETH 2425.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48