Cold, cardboard and corn

in CCC4 years ago

Cold
There's no way to deny it, it's cold and most likely I am the one suffering most from it since I am home. Might be the temperature will go up a bit again but it's useless. It's autumn, wintertime starts this weekend again and the sun - if there's sun at all - is stands low. It will never really shine inside, warm up the house. I asked the children how to survive the winter without a heater. The youngest shrug it's shoulders "I don't feel cold easily and if I can sit in bed". Yesterday it went to its room and sat in bed. I found the sleeping bag and gave it as an extra blanket.
The bus-child is getting older and getting older means feeling colder. The child is getting thinner and its elder sibling already calls it "anorexia". Wrapped in a blanket, with gloves on and a hot water bag it sat in our tiny living. Shivering till the hot water bag did its job.
A good thing about not being home the whole day is it's warm elsewhere. The car, bus, and hopefully at school although, about the school I am not quite sure because they need to ventilate the building the entire day.
"Better wear your undercoat you only wear a shirt" I advised the bus-kid. I wonder why people keep dressing as if it's summer if they are shivering for cold. It doesn't surprise me so many people catch a cold if they ignore the weather circumstances. Sitting still isn't a smart idea either. If you sat for a while you need to walk, keep moving. It's what I do besides of drinking hot water and tea, defrosting my toes/feet, and sitting wrapped in a blanket with at the moment wet hair (I need to buy a new hairdryer. The chance my hair dries today is small this way and my brains catch a cold. If it gets colder my hair will be frozen.)

Cardboard
It'good I saved the old boxes. It's always handy. I use it for my December 5th surprise, the youngest did and the bus-kid needs a box for its home made surprise as well. It's cute, not finished, and needs to dry first. Well, we have 6 more weeks to go. Hopefully, I finish mine on time. I haven't done much lately mainly because of one drawing. I will manage it even though I think drawing and coloring is not my thing. It's something in my head based on?
More cardboard I needed to cover 2/3of the two windows in our tiny living. We need extra isolation and the sun will not shine through it anyway. I could paint it to make it look nicer or perhaps I stick the paper bats we made about 8 years ago on it.
"It's a struggle with the shop, money, Arnhem looks like a ghost town", my eldest said, "at least we have it cozy at home".
Business...how many people can say they have that at home? I hardly hear anyone about it. It's more about complaining about staying home as if most of those complainers didn't wish even that long ago they could stay home, had time to do all those things they never had the time for. Instead of being active, it's getting fat at home, fat because of too much (bad) food (not a lack of exercise but eating way more), drunk and moody. "Let us focus on what we still can instead of what we can't. It is not as much work." Wise words spoken by Herman Finkers (Dutch comedian).

Corn
It's not a vegetable but grain, a family of grass.
"How healthy is corn actually and why do people say it's light to digest if it feels like a stone in my stomach after I ate it?"
The bus-kid says digestion might not be the same as the filled stomach. It doesn't feel it as extreme as I do but is not in the mood to eat something. The youngest says "corn can't be digested".
My gluten-free diet turned into using cornflour so far. I only once in my life bought it before to make a Romanian recipe which should be easy and failed with me. After that, I never tried it again. Two euros for 400 grams of cornflour is too much money to waste on "keep on trying making polenta".
What I didn't know is corn isn't healthy at all. Not if the farmer doesn't add chalk to the plants.
"Good the earth and water have a high concentrate of chalk", the bus-kid says. It's true but the corn here doesn't look healthy to me. I tried to make popcorn out of it and failed.
My youngest is right. The human body can not digest corn which contains cellulose which is the same tissue wood and cotton are made of. No matter what you believe corn kernels leave our body in exactly the same way as we put it in our mouth.

Information about corn given by the government:

"Corn can be contaminated with mycotoxins such as fumonisin or aflatoxin. Mycotoxins are poisonous substances produced by certain fungi. Because of the harmfulness of these substances, standards have been set in European legislation for various mycotoxins. Regulation EC 1881/2006 (6.1) includes the maximum permitted levels for certain mycotoxins."

Source: site about personal injury

I can't help but somehow it doesn't sound healthy to me at all but we are used to the cookies and the spicy ones taste like more no matter how they fill the stomach. Perhaps it's time to switch to something else?

This is my entry to the CCC contest What does CCC mean to you 3.20
Hosted by @team-ccc/@hive-166850

CCC = hive-166850

This is an Invitation to join #ccc. The community CCC supports members by encouraging and upvoting each other and by hosting contests. Contests are hosted by @team-ccc and it's members. See @team-ccc for contests running.

If the photos are not mine they can be found on pixabay.com
#kittywu #cold #cardboard #corn

Sort:  

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

 4 years ago 

Thank you for your entry. Let'hope extra blankets keep you all warm and the sun will shine.

You have #1.

Greetings @team-ccc

Upvoted/resteemed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15