Contest 4.32 looking back/look forward

in CCC3 years ago

pexels-leah-kelley-373465.jpg
Source

This past Tuesday happened to be my late father's birthday. He died a couple of years ago. I read on that day as I usually do and looking back, I now see how he influenced my love of books.

I see now that it was a privilege in that sense to have him for a father. He would give us magazines when we were younger to circle articles to pass the time instead of sitting with our eyes glued to the TV. This must have been how I started to read. The fact that he was a reader himself helped because it meant he had an actual bookshelf. This isn't something that you'd commonly see in a Ghanaian household.

Today and for all the days that will come, I am and I would continue to be grateful to him and my mom who always brought back books to us from everyone of her shopping sprees for giving us this amazing gift. The gift of books.

I found this contest here participate.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Thank you for joining this CCC contest and being an active member of the community.

CCC_1643052469254.png

My parents had books too. My father dictated parts from Saturday's newspaper to write down. Without mistakes of course. I started reading at a young age. A great way to escape out of a misery life.
Never saw my parents read except for study books. My grandpa collected books.
A book is one of the best gifts that why I liked Christmas at primary school. School gave a book for Christmas.
Thanks for joining. 🍀💖

Wow your school must have been great

We weren't allowed to do much. Very strict, teacher/principal hit us but I loved that book and the orange for Christmas. 🙂 Those books are my best memory of that school.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60380.95
ETH 2623.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55