C stands for celebrationsteemCreated with Sketch.

in CCC2 years ago

C stands for celebration

I started listening to the audiobook version of a thousand splendid suns.

I cried after the first few chapters and I've got to say that's a good sign for me when it comes to books.

I admire any author who could write something so touching it draws tears from my eyes. On the other hand I'm a crybaby so crying really comes easy to me.

Well, after Mariam, one of the main characters accepts her fate and gets pregnant, her husband starts to celebrate and even names the child, whom he believes to be a boy.(eye roll)

Then calamity strikes and Mariam is left confused and guilt-ridden. This leads me to ask the question. When should be have celebrated? Was he in too much of a rush?

Well, my answer is Mariam would have found someone to blame even if things had gone differently. She is grieving and that's what you do. I hope she eventually comes to terms with it and forgives herself.

Another issue that was worrying is Mariam's husband's “manly" approach to healing. He just kept going about his business and refused to give Mariam some closure by having a private ceremony to “bury" their unborn child.

We need to start with the men in our lives. Good mental health is important for people of all genders.

May peace be with you

Participate in the contest here

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

What if it's not about blaming but a way of grieving?
Thanks for sharing your C with us! 👍

It's how some people grieve.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64316.46
ETH 3170.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49