You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Curation Report Week #05 by Team Lucky – Final dip!

in Steem POD Team2 years ago

I read your reports with interest.

I'd be very interested to know whether the freedom to not have a specific topic area to manage has had an impact on your work. Are you more able to find posts that are worthy of being rewarded? You've had experience in both the " Lucky Dip" team and the "Steem Growth" team.

When curating a certain topic or tag, I had the feeling that many posts were only written in the knowledge that the SC would come along at some point and click on "vote". This should not have been the case with team "Lucky Dip", should it? Nevertheless, you will certainly have read many posts that were not worth being rewarded.

The difficulty of a "free team" is probably rather to achieve a broad spread of users. There are always users who are known to write good posts of their own, which may then be visited more often...
Did you have a special strategy for finding suitable users and posts? (Apart from the ones you had already mentioned in the weekly posts?)

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Wow! Just my type of reply. (•ิ‿•ิ)

I think it is important to look at the difference between the two teams, "Lucky Dip" and "Steem Growth".

Steem Growth – week after week you have the same tags and you see the same type of content which can become pretty boring. The beauty however is that you don’t have to look far to find posts and the authors, most of the time, knows what is required. You also don’t have to check constantly. The posts will still be there for you to vote on after a few hours. Oh yes, I almost forgot, you have the moderators helping you checking the posts which is very helpful.

Lucky Dip – Yes, you have more freedom, a HUGE variety and no boredom. The negative is to find the diamonds which qualifies. It takes a lot of time and you have to read many posts.
The impact, a lot of work especially if you don’t want to vote on tags related to curating teams. The last thing you want to hear is that you are “stealing” their posts. The playing field is levelled for September and it might be a total different ball game.
So often I got excited about a post and then when I start checking the voting criteria it fails. You actually don’t know what to check first. If you check plagiarism and it is clean it fails on the other criteria like voting CSI. If you check the criteria first it fails on plagiarism. You found yourself wasting a good 15 minutes and all the excitement is gone.

Then on the other hand, it is fantastic to read a quality post from an author you are not familiar with. It is like getting an ice-cream as a child.
Oh yah, there is also a lot more post you have to translate.

I suppose in the end it is a game of do you want to ride on the swings or the merry-go-round.

Did you have a special strategy for finding suitable users and posts?

Nope, no strategy except from what I have mentioned in the weekly feedback. You have to read and read.. You do find your eyes getting use to some “scanning” as time goes on.

I hope I have given you the answers your were looking for.

week after week you have the same tags and you see the same type of content

This is exactly the experience I had... with a few exceptions, of course :-)

you don’t have to look far to find posts and the authors

Yes, but unfortunately, from my point of view, that is also a decisive disadvantage. Often something is compulsively put together, or all sorts of tags are simply put under the post so that it is not overlooked. I didn't much enjoy just looking for a specific tag, because there might have been much better posts waiting for a reward outside. However, these were not written just for an SC to see, but because the author was concerned with the topic of the post rather than a team's curation rules.

have to read many posts.

Yes, that's right. But we read a lot of posts anyway. Then we can save the "diamonds" for the curation day and then reward him. That's how I would imagine it. I think that would have been more enjoyable for me :-)

So often I got excited about a post and then when I start checking the voting criteria it fails

I agree with you there too! I am all the more curious about the experiences of the "Freestyle" team. :-)

I suppose in the end it is a game of do you want to ride on the swings or the merry-go-round.

Of course. I can only judge one side. That's why I was interested in your comparison. Since you were active in both teams: Which kind of curation did you like better?

 2 years ago 

Which kind of curation did you like better?

I liked "Lucky Dip" although it is a lot more work.

Which team would I prefer?

Team Freestyle.... That is my choice. (•ิ‿•ิ)
There are hundreds of post which looks good, good images, hardly any words, no club, not steemexlusive etc.

With a little bit of motivation, encouragement and introduction to the "rules" they might just start following it. For me that it is the whole idea behind team Freestyle. Not just to vote but to leave that "special message" and to follow up. The encouragement to get better quality of post on Steemit.

Imagen2.png
CONGRATULATIONS

This post has been upvoted with @steemcurator09/ Curated by: @wase1234

Thank you :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64063.06
ETH 3144.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55