Coronavirus Food & Grocery Delivery Etiquette

in Gig Drivers4 years ago

image.png

Contactless Delivery Options - USE IT!!!!

We do not have the option of refusing contact with a customer. Be an adult and select the no-contact option for delivery. That's 10 to 20 fewer people I have to come in contact with per day.

TIP, TIP, TIP!!!

I refuse to accept another order that does not include a reasonable tip. If you won't take the risk of leaving your home and coming in contact with the virus, why should I?

The average no tip delivery is a break-even proposition. Depending on the distance it can actually cost the driver to deliver it. Low on money? Order from less expensive restaurants close to you and tip a few dollars.

Stop ordering fountain drinks!

Unless the diner uses sealed bags. I cringe every time I pick up a fountain drink in a cup. More so when I'm forced to make it myself. One restaurant even forces drivers to make drinks when they have no ability to wash their hands before filling the drink. I wouldn't drink a fountain drink delivered to me.

Don't expect the usual attention to detail

Pre-Coronavirus I'd peek in a bag and count the number of items and to see if the utensils, napkins & condiments were included. I'd also grab accompanying items myself and put them in the bag. Not anymore. I ask if the order is correct and if everything is in the bag and take the restaurant's word for it.

Answers to commonly asked questions:

Are you wearing gloves because you have the coronavirus?

No, I'm wearing gloves because restaurants have closed restrooms for customers. I have limited access to soap and water. So it is hand sanitizer & gloves.

Will you look to see if Tacos R Us put Mild Sauce in the bag? Grab extra sauces and napkins?

No.

Why are you standing so far away? Are you a homophobe? You're a homophobe, aren't you!

Come on... Seriously, have you read the news? Get a grip!

I bet you're making lots of money off this virus! Aren't you ashamed of yourself?

No. Just like delivering in snow & ice storms the majority of customers do not feel the need to tip in proportion to the risks we take to deliver their food.

You're exposing yourself to hundreds of people a day, aren't you concerned you'll eventually contract the coronavirus and become ill? Maybe even die?

YES!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 59288.97
ETH 3114.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39