Considering Doing Commission Work on Twitter, Any Advice?

in COMIC BOOKS fan/pro4 years ago (edited)

I am in desperate need of increasing my income from online sources as I will be leaving home and traveling over the US East Coast for the next 4 to 8 months, or possibly longer depending on family drama. Possibly forever. Anyway, I see a lot of webcomic artists on Twitter that have "Commissions Open" and "Commissions Closed" in their name. Just wondering if anyone here has any experience with doing random commission work for strangers on social media.

I figure I need to put up a page somewhere that shows my rate sheet for single-character, multi-character drawings. I have two styles of drawings that I've been doing predominantly lately, just because I've been trying to come up with a style that is different from others.

The first is my "ribbon" style art. Basically: "What if Ty Wilson did comics." These are really quick for me and I wouldn't charge much (but not too LITTLE). Those look like this.


gamorra prev.png




supergirl print prev.png

My other style is more like an oil painting, or "What if Monet did comics." These take about 20 hours to complete, so I can't see trying to sell commissions for a reasonable amount of dollars. But who knows, maybe someone would be willing to shell out... $300?
Here's some samples.


dr fate vs cthulhu 150p.jpg


hawks v pazuzu 150p.jpg



I welcome any advice or suggestions or warnings or insights.

Ooh, edit. Forgot to add this:

lucy-as-psychologist.jpg









Sort:  

Don't forget to put yourself up on FIVERR.com also

Hmm, never thought about that. Will check it out. Do they charge fees for processing or whatnot?

Not sure but people get a ton of work on their

I've done a good amount of commissions. Here's the hard truth for you- you are going to be competing with the entire world for commissions on those sites, and with no much of a resume or portfolio to show off or follower count...you are going to have a tough time getting work.
I would suggest...drawing a few pieces and putting them up for sale, people are looking to own traditional art by and large, and that's what you'll need to show you can do. You'll likely have better odds of selling a finished Wonder Woman, that people can see in it's finished glory, than having someone roll the dice on what you are able to do by request.
Also...most trading card companies ( topps for example) hire people to do sketch cards. They send you a bunch of blanks for say...some star wars set coming soon, you sketch on them, send them bck, they randomly insert them into packs. They don't pay a lot, but it's something. It looks good on your bio, and they let you keep a small percentage of the cards that you can then sell on your own.
anyways...hope some of that was worth the reading.

I have no advice but wish you luck. I’m considering dabbling in the commission game too and need to test the waters myself. I hope things turn out okay for you. If your travels bring you around Philadelphia let me know! It’d be nice to grab some lunch.

Thanks, will keep that in mind! Someone needs to make an app that shows the city locations of all the people in their friends list on Steemit. Most people here I think of as living pretty much in cyberspace...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58969.80
ETH 2512.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48