You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WorldbuildingWednesday - Creation Facts and Creation Myths

It was very interesting reading through the whole post even if it took me more than a week to return to it and finish it. I know what you're talking about, I have made lots of settings myself, although I prefer leaving them quite open to change until the time comes to fill in any particular piece of knowledge. Which is more difficult than in your case, not so systematic and prone to contradictions adding up in time, of course. Just my lazy impro style, I guess.

The thing that troubles me with your setting in terms of realism is...those periods of hundreds of thousands of years seem too long if we try and compare them to our civilization. Statistically speaking. This is some huge geological scale and I would normally expect civilizations to rise and fall faster than that.

And so would some players, I believe. Players love questioning your logic, don't they ;)

Have fun!

Sort:  

Thanks for the reply! That's a fair point - I intentionally made those periods long to account for both the incredible lifespans of Giants and Dragons, and for rises and falls and changes within their own cultures. Their history isnt important to the setting right now so having a fuzzy date that is massive is useful for now. I may edit it later, but that's a retcon I can do without anyone really noticing!

Oh, if you don't announce those numbers anywhere in the game, that's no problem at all, true. Just saying what I noticed and felt unbelievable to me.

An interesting reference in my mind was the Foundation cycle of Isaac Asimov which happens some 30 000 years in the future, the whole galaxy was colonized and enters a dark age and a lot of changes happen then in the time frame of about 1000 years. Or David Zindell's Requiem for Hommo Sapiens cycle which is again galaxy-scale stuff about 3000 to 30 000 (don't remember which) years into the future.

Lots of dark-aging and wars, plus the mostly melancholic state of the elder races' minds would allow for lots of slowing down and back-to-square-one, of course. It's your story ;) I am glad I got to know about it.

I will have to check that out! I definitely appreciate a critique, and it has given me something to think about and possibly change. I really appreciate your input (and the recommendation for the Foundation Cycle)!

There are 5 or 6 books in there, but honestly, nothing was of the quality of the original The Foundation, imo.

As for the Requiem... that was one of the most original fictions I've ever read. One of the most amazing settings. And very beautifully written.

See you soon around here ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57824.98
ETH 3133.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42