Open my eyes, that I may see performance by Zoe Bennett and Christopher PalmersteemCreated with Sketch.

in BeBethlehem3 years ago

Hello everyone! A few days ago, @cmp2020 and @zzoebee recorded the hymn Open my eyes that I may see together to post for the church. This article will also include some background information about the hymn, but first, here are the lyrics and the performance:

Open my eyes that I may see (source)

Verse 1
Open my eyes that I may see
Glimpses of truth Thou hast for me;
Place in my hands the wonderful key
That shall unclasp and set me free.
Silently now I wait for Thee,
Ready, my God, Thy will to see;
Open my eyes, illumine me,
Spirit divine.

Verse 3
Open my mouth and let me bear
Gladly the warm truth everywhere;
Open my heart and let me prepare
Love with Thy children, thus to share.
Silently now I wait for Thee,
Ready, my God, Thy will to see;
Open my heart, illumine me,
Spirit divine.

History of the Hymn (source)

Clara H. Scott was born in 1841, and in 1856 went to C.M. Cady's first music institute in Chicago. She was teaching there by 1859, and in 1861 became the first woman to publish a volume of choir anthems.

Open my eyes, that I may see was written shortly before Scott's unfortunate death (in an accident caused by a runaway horse). The message of asking for God to open our eyes, and provide discernment is throughout the bible, and the words are incredibly well thought out.

To learn more about our church and Jesus, please click here

Conclusion

Thanks for reading this! Please comment any hymns you want to hear in the future! We would love to know which hymns you like, and to perform them! Have an excellent day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58695.71
ETH 2633.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49