Scaling New Heights at Da Nang's First Climbing Gym

in wormhole39 months ago

Scaling New Heights at Da Nang's First Climbing Gym

GYM

--

Hello Freinds

Adventure called this weekend, luring my friend and I to test our climbing skills at Da Nang's first bouldering gym. Though new to scaling walls, we felt an irresistible pull to challenge ourselves on the towering structures. After grabbing coffee for courage, we were off to hoist ourselves skyward, pretending to be daring primates.


Location: Danang Climbing Gym
Adress: 119b Mai Am, Thuận Phước, Hải Châu, Đà Nẵng 550000, Vietnam
Google map link: https://maps.app.goo.gl/ZeJZsFje4dohNz8Y6


Arriving at the Danang Climbing Gym, the indoor space was empty and peaceful. As newbies, having the walls all to ourselves was ideal. My friend and I gleefully geared up with shoes and chalk, eager to mimic the gravity-defying moves we'd seen on YouTube.

Shoes

The gym's bouldering walls soared 15-20 feet up with multi-colored grips jutting out at varied angles and difficulty levels. Even the beginner routes looked daunting from ground level. We started tentatively, practicing moves on some low walls to build confidence.

So many otions

Soon we felt bold enough to tackle some intermediate level ascents. The first few attempts were truly humbling, arms trembling as we struggled to find secure foot placement. But gradually, the technique started to click.

Climbing The Wall

There's an addictive thrill to clinging vertically, hunting for the next grip to propel you higher. Reaching a hold you initially thought impossible provides a glorious rush. My friend and I whooped and hollered with each new personal record.

Inverted

The mental game is key in bouldering. Staring up from solid ground, summits seem miles away. But closing in on the top, the inverse viewpoint makes your starting point appear tiny and far below. That upside-down visual trickery amps up the adrenaline.

Smile

Despite the padded floor, the risk of slipping also accelerates the heart rate. I had to push past fears and trust my hands and feet. While we avoided major falls, we left decorated in small bruises from controlled slides back to earth. Battle scars proving our courage!

After two hours of climbing, we were happily exhausted. My friend was eager to return and conquer the walls that had thwarted us this round. We both saw improvement even after one session, proving that persistence pays off.

Price List

I highly recommend checking out the Danang Climbing Gym if you're visiting Da Nang. A day pass is only 150,000 VND (about $6.50 USD). The friendly staff will get you set up with gear and offer tips. It's a super fun outlet for exercise and adventure.

Have you tried bouldering before? Share your experience below!

While I clearly need more practice, I'm excited to build strength and technique. My friend and I can't wait for our next climbing date to defy gravity and reach for new heights, both literal and metaphorical.

Onward and upward!

Looking up

Oh, Also, I think this place was once a bar before becoming a climbing gym; I spotted this mural behind the wall when I was on top.

Think this place was once a bar.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59908.77
ETH 3191.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43