2022 Trip to Korea: Day 7 - A Postcard 엽서 한 장

in Steemit Travel2 years ago

At two postcards I got from the KIAF Seoul Art Fair, I fell into a flutter. The blank space on the back of the colorful postcards made my mind race to my two children. Just the thought of sending one to the eldest in LA and the other to the second in college made my heart flutter. How long has it been since I wrote on a postcard? When I was in college, I went backpacking in Europe and collected postcards from each place and kept a diary of each day. In secondary school, when my heart was like a bud in spring, I wrote a letter behind my hand-drawn sketches and gave them to my friends. However, since I started working in adulthood, I don’t remember ever buying a single postcard. I traveled to many cities on business trips. However, as I was always busy with my work, I could not afford to look through postcards in unfamiliar cities.

At some point, I started writing all emails, sending and receiving e-cards. I have forgotten handwriting for so long. I sat with the postcards in front of me and held a pen in my hand. A moment of thinking with a pen in my hand. It was a fresh feeling, different from looking at a computer screen with a blinking cursor to write. It’s like tasting the delicious handmade Kalguksu* after eating only instant noodles for a long time. As I tried to handwrite each sentence, a poetic mind sprouted, which made me write a short poem while thinking of my children.

I ran to a post office nearby to send the postcards. “When will those arrive?” I asked. A postal worker answered it would take over a month unless I paid for an express mail. Over a month? The postcards may arrive later than I. I hesitated for a moment about whether I should pay a few tens of dollars per postcard to send it by express. The express delivery of my handwritten postcards somehow seemed like handmade Kalguksu with artificial seasoning, so I decided to mail them with a regular stamp. “Would it arrive for sure with no express mail?” I left the post office with a worried heart, like the immigrants of the pre-email era when they only could exchange handwritten letters with their parents and friends.

* A soup made of wheat flour noodles flattened and cut by hand, served in a hot chicken or beef broth and topped with clams, julienned summer squash, and a seasoning sauce.

51BABE8E-E294-48B1-8B94-7549798EA538_1_105_c.jpeg

키아프 서울 아트 페어에서 엽서 두 장을 받았다. 화려한 그림엽서 뒷면의 공백을 보자 아이들 얼굴이 떠올랐다. 한 장은 LA에 있는 큰아이에게 다른 한 장은 대학에 있는 둘째에게 보내면 되겠다는 생각만으로도 가슴이 설렜다. 엽서에 글을 써 본 지가 얼마만인가. 대학 시절 유럽 배낭여행을 다니며 각 곳의 엽서를 모아 그날그날의 일기를 썼었다. 마음이 봄철 새싹같았던 중고등학교 시절에는 손수 그린 스케치 뒤에 글을 써 친구들에게 주기도 했다. 하지만, 직장생활을 하는 성인이 된 후로는 엽서 한 장을 산 기억이 없다. 그렇게 많은 도시로 출장을 다녔지만 항상 바쁜 일정에 쫓겨서 낯선 도시의 엽서를 들여다 볼 여유가 없었다.
게다가 어느 순간부터인가 모두 이메일을 쓰기 시작하고 전자카드 (e-card)를 주고 받으며 손으로 글을 쓰는 일이 없어졌다. 엽서를 앞에 놓고 앉아 손에 펜을 쥐었다. 손에 펜을 쥐고 생각하는 순간. 커서가 깜빡이는 컴퓨터 화면을 바라보고 글을 쓰는 것과는 다른 느낌. 마치 인스턴트누들만 먹다 수제칼국수의 맛깔스런 명품요리를 맛보는 느낌이랄까. 손으로 한 문장 한 문장 써내려가니 시심이 생겨 아이들을 생각하며 짧은 시도 썼다.
우체국에 달려가 엽서를 부쳤다. “언제 도착하나요?”하고 물으니 비싼 돈을 내고 특급으로 부치지 않는 한 한 달여정도 걸린단다. 한 달이나? 나보다 편지가 더 늦게 도착할 수도 있겠다. 엽서당 몇 십불의 돈을 내고 특급으로 부쳐야하나 잠시 망설였다. 손으로 쓴 엽서에 특급배송은 왠지 수제칼국수에 인공 조미료를 치는 것 같아 그냥 보내기로 했다. “특급이 아니어도 제대로 잘 도착은 하나요?” 이메일이 생기기 전 이민자들이 부모님과 친구들에게 손편지를 주고받으며 살았던 시절 그 애틋한 마음을 안고 우체국을 나섰다.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59541.21
ETH 2543.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53