Contest- Show Your Culinary Skill- MyMasterchefdish- Afang Soup

in Steemit Travel2 years ago

Hello everyone,

I hope we are all doing great. It's really nice to jump on an interesting contest about food. I would like to thank @ripon0630 for this culinary skill contest. My dish is an original Ibibio/Efik dish that is enjoyed all through my country.

IMG_20221129_122145.jpg

The dish is popularly called Afang Soup. This afang soup is an amazing dish that needs little special skill to get the taste to perfection. I hope my dish impressed the judges here.

What was your inspiration for your dish?

My inspiration for this dish is my mother, she really loves this dish. Although other dish makes their way up her taste bud, this got her salivating from the thought of it.

IMG_20221129_121902.jpg

And she's got series of stories to tell about this dish each time the name comes up. The stories are quite interesting and it would make you want to try out the dish.

What are your favourite flavours and how did you incorporate them into your dish?

My favourite flavours are 3 for this dish. There are; the afang leaves(wild spinach), the palm oil and finally the crayfish. Once these are incorporated into the dish, the aroma fills everywhere.

IMG_20221129_121745.jpg

I incorporate the crayfish that I've grinded first into the pot of meat stock and allow it to boil a bit then I add my palm oil, the flavour from the two is really nice.

IMG_20221129_121825.jpg
Then I add other ingredients,allow to boil and finally add my afang (wild spinach) for the final flavour, by now, the aroma should be calling everybody out to the kitchen.

What was the most challenging part of creating this dish?

I know and believe every dish has got it's challenging parts, mine for this dish is the preparation of the afang and waterleaf. Now for the afang(wild spinach), it has to fist be plucked, then washed, sprayed to dry, packed and cut and finally grate it.

IMG_20221129_121745.jpg

For the waterleaf, it has to be cut from the farm, washed and cut. But sometimes the process is fun.

How did you ensure that your dish was both creative and delicious?

IMG_20221129_122145.jpg

First, I had to make it delicious by cooking it in a nice way. Added all the necessary ingredients, tasted it to be sure the taste was okay for eating. Everything you cook is a creativity of yours.

I would like to invite @chiomzy810, @benson6 and @madilyn02 to join in this contest. Thank you.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

The way you presented the dish is very beautiful. It seems to be a very healthy dish.Thanks for the entry ,Good Luck.

 2 years ago 

Thank you. The dish is very healthy and delicious.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60482.94
ETH 2613.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63