ALL ABOUT NATURE || Fauna that I found in Mexico ||

in Steemit Travellast year

Greeting friends of steemit

I come to participate in this contest promoted by the Steemit Travel community, if you want to know what it is about you can click here

1f0e4c70-b3f6-40fa-9d76-5cc853684360.jpg

As you know, last year I took a trip to Mexico to get to know the Cancun and Riviera Maya area. Without a doubt, it was a nice trip in which I learned a lot about both Mexican and Mayan culture, we visited many places and did several excursions.

In this case, I am here to participate in this contest to talk to you about the fauna that I found in this country, which in many aspects is very different from what we have in Spain.

Captura de pantalla 2023-06-22 a las 13.59.46.png

Location Riviera Maya, México aquí


First of all I want to tell you about a rodent that caught my attention a lot since we had it everywhere in the resort where we stayed.

I am talking about the Mexican Agutí or better known as Zerete, it is a rodent that lives in tropical areas and in Mexico it inhabits the Mayan rivera area, and the Yucatan peninsula in general.

It is characteristic for its thin legs adapted for running and short hair, but with a large ass, in fact, on some occasions it can weigh up to 5 kg.

87ca80eb-e4f7-4619-b3e5-a8a447d384f5.jpg

They tend to hide in burrows and normally feed on seeds, fruits or, as on this occasion, everything that tourists drop on the ground, since they came out mostly in the afternoon/night and didn't leave anything on the ground, hehehehe.

7329ed3b-7d7f-418b-b1cd-0748a626296c.jpg

The second species that caught my eye is lizards.

In Spain there are, of course, lizards, but they are not that big and there are not so many. There were quite a few at our hotel as well and we could see them every time we left the resort everywhere we went.

3af1f7d1-6229-4be3-a19a-30e0058b9431.jpg

They normally lie in the sun and can lie for several hours without moving while they warm up in their bodies.

They do not usually attack but sometimes if they are cornered they can be aggressive since they have teeth and long nails.

4f2a8602-c22a-4340-8d88-51f36c7ac349.jpg

The third species that I am going to talk about is not animal, but aquatic.

I'm talking about starfish. In Spain, although we have many diving areas and transparent waters, the water in general is usually colder than in the Caribbean Sea and that means that there are not so many marine stars and that the ones that exist are very different from these, which is why it caught our attention. .

038bb585-b817-43e2-ab66-1b5314e0b9ce.jpg

We saw them a lot, at home on an excursion that we did and they seemed to have been put there as if it were a decoration.

We were especially struck by the number of stars that were on an excursion that we went to visit Isla Contoy. A protected reserve and that probably because it is protected is one of the reasons why there are so many concentrated, since they are safe from mass tourism and poachers who take them to stuff them and then sell them.

They are very beautiful and as a fact I will tell you that if the starfish lose an arm, they are capable of regenerating it, although it would take them a long time to do so.

b93cd605-79db-46da-ac25-b070318c8f06.jpg

The next thing I want to talk about is something that surprised me, in this case I show you a photo of termites or rather termite mounds.

In Spain there are no termite mounds, I imagine they will hide underground or in some area far from the towns, but here in Mexico you find them everywhere.

Termites generally feed on everything that contains wood and are capable of devouring wood in a short time, normally they feed on dead or decomposed wood.

As I am curious, I asked the guide why the termite nests were so large and he told me that termites are very intelligent and always build their nests above the maximum sea level, that is, if you see a termite nest , you will know what is the maximum level that the sea has ever risen in that area.

cab3c1f1-ef40-4e6d-8004-6e8cd0f7f3d8.jpg

Well I hope you liked this post about curiosities of nature. I invite my friends @genomil, @rofeliz and @dulcem05 to participate in this contest


barra 3.png


Este post está programado al 10% de apoyo de @hive-163291 para ayudar a la comunidad a seguir creciendo.

Saludos @kikenexum


3133fc95-194f-4b18-bbd3-f420a3140f3e.jpg

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

 last year 

Saludos amigo

Que hermosas fotos nos compartes... La mensajería está por doquier y en esta tu publicación nos regala una muestra de ello.

Te envío éxitos. Y gracias por compartir con nosotros 😃

 last year 

Gracias a ti amiga, me alegro mucho de que te hayan gustado mis fotos.

Un saludo y buen fin de semana 😉

 last year 

Vaya, ese ratonsote se parece igualito a uno que llamamos acá como chigüire o capybara conocido en México con esos nombres que mencionas. La fauna de América es indudablemente exótica e increíble.

 last year 

Pues sí, a nosotros nos llamó la atención porque no estamos acostumbrados a ver esa fauna por Europa y ya sabemos que todo lo desconocido llama la atención.

Saludos alegnita ;)

 last year 

Jajaja a mí me va a llamar la atención todos los animales de África cuando vaya para allá 🦁🐯🦏🐘🐫

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52740.91
ETH 2362.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.09