Contest - Share with us a tour of yours that didn't cost you a penny. | The Lagos Island Experience

in Steemit Travellast year
INTRODUCTION

Traveling or touring around a place without paying a penny is always exciting especially when going to a place you have always wanted to go to. I have always wanted to tour the Island part of Lagos, as I was not opportune to go there in time past. So my friend Akan, helped me financially to tour the Lagos Island, last year December. This was the mixed experiences I had


PXL_20221205_152314634.jpg

Boarding the BRT Bus

✅ Who paid for the tour? Where was the tour, and who went with you?

The tour I had was in Lagos. I have heard a lot about the Lagos Island. A lot of lovely stories about the seas there, the tall buildings, and beaches. I was so excited and eager to have a tour down there. My friend paid for the tour because I wasn't with cash. He offered to take me to the island, since we were in the mainland part of Lagos. I was too excited that I forgot the stress it takes to go from the mainland to the Island.


PXL_20221205_191541075.jpg

CMS Lagos Island

I didn't go alone on the tour, I did go with my two best friends and the experience I had was mixed.

✅ What challenges did you face while touring without any money?

I faced some challenges on the way to pick a bus. It was difficult to get a bolt rider from the mainland to the island, so my friends opted to use the BRT bus which was rather conducive but time consuming. We had to trek some distance from Berger to where we boarded the bus. My friend gave me a ticket he had paid for and I joined them in the bus. That was my first time in that bus and I really loved it.


PXL_20221205_152339288.jpg

Touring on the BRT Bus

I couldn't buy anything to eat, so I had to wait till when they were ready to get something to eat. Well I was happy too.
Payment to enter the beach too was quite difficult, we didn't enter the beach area because of hike in the price of the gate fee. So we all stayed back. We change plans and took some soft drinks at a bar instead.

✅ What were the best and worst experiences of the tour?

I had sweet experiences as well as some experiences that weren't good. Let's go back to when we were on the road to the island. One of the best moments was seeing the Third mainland bridge Lagos, for some people it was normal, but for me, it was a wonderful experience. I have only heard/read about this bridge on current affairs booklets and radios. Sometimes seen it on my phone. The sea was quite a lovely sight to behold.


PXL_20221205_171607486.jpg

Ahmadu Bello way Lagos

The worst experience of the tour was the traffic grid lock. We stayed on the road for more 2 hours, for a distance that would have taken just a few minutes. I was stressed out for staying too long. We also had to trek at some point because we didn't have enough transportation fare.
Another lovely experience was when we arrived the Island, I saw the new Eko Atlantic Energy city, it is one of the masterpiece of a new green city in West Africa.


PXL_20221205_180235981.jpg

Eko Atlantic City from a distance

Another worst experience we had was going back to the mainland, we lost our way because it was dark. I never my friends didn't know the island well. So we had to use a google map and we even lost our way even more. We paid more for our transport fare because it was late. I slept a lot of times om the journey before reaching by 11:30pm. I have heard a lot of stories about Lagos stressing a person and I experienced it first-hand. My friends had to buy food on the same, so we could eat at home.
Well it was a great experience because I saw a lot of places, had a bolt ride in Lagos and also used the famous Lagos state Blue bus.


1670276649427.jpg

Waiting for a bus back home

✅ What advice would you give to someone going on a tour without spending any money for the first time?

I would always say go with a back up cash, just in case anything happens. It is always a great feeling when you go to a tour without paying a dime. But you might not get the full treatment you need. So always go to a tour with an extra cash.
PXL_20221205_174131040.jpg

Thank you for going through my post.

I invite @imohmitch, @inemesitjustus and @davidmarkgeorge to participate.

Cc,
@ripon0630

Sort:  

You are right Lagos is indeed a very beautiful place, and i am sure you really enjoyed your self.
Honestly speaking staying in traffic is not easy at all but for 2hrs you really tried.
Anyway i really enjoyed your entry

TEAM MILLIONAIRE

Your post has been successfully curated by @kouba01 at 30%.

Thank you for your committed efforts, we urge you to do more and keep posting high quality participation for a chance to earn valuable upvotes from our team.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66049.89
ETH 3374.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63