Steemit Travel Anniversary N°1

in Steemit Travellast year (edited)
I congratulate and wish you a very "Happy Birthday Steemit Travel! | It's your anniversary #1

Let me share with my dear Steemians a trip to two important places in Delhi, the Indian capital. By the way, I did not visit any of them today, but since I live close to these world-famous world heritage monuments, what better than these to share on the occasion of your birthday?

But before I share these two places, let me tell you about the city of Delhi. The total area of Delhi NCR is more than 55,000 km² and it consists of a number of different independent cities. Delhi is one of the oldest cities of the world which has thousands of world-famous monuments and buildings but today I will discuss about 2 or 3 places of Delhi in my blog.

The history of the Indian capital Delhi is very old. If we look into the pages of history, we shall learn a number of interesting facts about Delhi. I suggest you visit the Mehrauli area, which is famous for Delhi's pride Qutub Minar.

ᶦᵐᵃᵍᵉ ᵐᶦⁿᵉ ᵉᵈᶦᵗᵉᵈ ʷᶦᵗʰ ᵖᵃᶦⁿᵗ
Untitled.jpg

Qutub Minar

Let me add here that although Delhi is the capital city however, the people still look at it as a cluster of cities, and Qutub Minar and its surrounding areas including Tughlaqabad, Humayun's Tomb, and Nizam-ud-din Auliya; Shershah's Fort, Red Fort, and Jama Masjid will always remain the heritage of India. I would like to add Feroz Shah Kotla, Safdarjung Tomb, Hauz-Khas, and Tomb of Lodi to this list as well.

ᶦᵐᵃᵍᵉ ᵐᶦⁿᵉ
1597310478-63501.jpg

Mehrauli is one of the oldest areas of Delhi. And as we hear from its old residents why this area got its name Mehrauli.

According to the history of Delhi, after the defeat of Prithviraj Chauhan in 1191, Mehrauli became a stronghold of Muslim rulers. Qutbuddin built Delhi's first mosque, the Quwwal-ul-Islam. Today we know it as Qutub Minar.

Location
This area is famous for many old buildings apart from Qutub Minar, there are many old buildings in Mehrauli. On the outskirts of Mehrauli, there is a reservoir Shamshi Tank and Jahaz Mahal, built over a blurred footprint, which is said to be of the Prophet. It is a beautiful monument made of grey and red stones.


DSC06142 (1) (1).JPG

If you visit this place, entry is free and you can find all sorts of transportation from every part of the city. I think you can spend a few hours here although, for me, even a few days are not enough so I go there as and when possible and watch every monument from a new point of view.

  

Jama Masjid, Delhi

ᶦᵐᵃᵍᵉ ᵐᶦⁿᵉ
DSC07552.JPG

Jama Masjid from an entirely different angle compared to what I gave you yesterday. In fact, I was part of the group you are seeing inside the mosque here.

Location
And yes, this is from my collection because I did not visit this place today. What I am presenting here is India's largest mosque, Jama Masjid, which I think is a must-visit among the other tourist interest places in Delhi.

You should go visit Chandni Chowk market for a variety of items but beware of footpath traders since they tell you 3 to 4 times the price even of fake items. One should be good at bargaining to get the right price here.

This grand mosque was one of the most beautiful structures created by the Mughal ruler Shah Jahan. Incidentally, Shah Jahan was the one who constructed many beautiful buildings in India, including Tajmahal, and this is one of them. People from all sects visit this place, no matter what religion they belong to, but it can accommodate 25,000 devotees on special prayer days like Eid and Fridays.

ᶦᵐᵃᵍᵉ ᵐᶦⁿᵉ
DSC07558.JPG

I will give you the beauty of the mosque in this post, which this mosque offers in abundance, especially some exterior design and structural beauty. Once again, this mosque is made of red sandstone and marble for the floor.

The mosque is built right in the city center of Delhi, so you can watch the entire city standing on its wide outer walls! The mosque is constructed on an elevated platform spread over a very large land area.

Jama Masjid in Delhi is the largest and I hope you would excuse me if I say possibly the most magnificent mosque in the world. It is on the road opposite the Red Fort. This huge mosque in Old Delhi is an example of the excellent architectural values of the Mughal emperor Shah Jahan, in which 25,000 people can sit and pray together.

The mosque has a large courtyard where thousands of devotees come and sit together to pray on Fridays. Let me give you a little detail about this mosque. A beautiful window typed wall separates it from the main road. This grand structure rests on one of the two hills in the east, the monument faces the Red Fort and has four entrances, four pillars, and two towers. Incidentally, the Red Fort is just about 500 meters from this place.

ᶦᵐᵃᵍᵉ ᵐᶦⁿᵉ
DSC07555.JPG

If you want to eat something here, try Tandoori Chicken, Biryani, Paranthas and Chole Bhature. If you have heard nothing about any of these, go Google them.

Incidentally, the last Mughal ruler Bahadur Shah Zafar was arrested by the British and taken to Rangoon and the Mughal Empire came to an end. The British became the new rulers of Delhi. In 1911, George V announced to make Delhi the new capital of India and announced to make New Delhi.

ᶦᵐᵃᵍᵉ ᵐᶦⁿᵉ
DSC01100.JPG

Edwin Lutyens and Hubbard Baker were entrusted with the task of building the new capital. He built many magnificent buildings, including Rashtrapati Bhavan, India Gate, and Parliament House. Connaught Place, which is called the heart of Delhi, was also created by Lutyens. Today we know it as New Delhi and Lutyens Delhi.

ᶦᵐᵃᵍᵉ ᵐᶦⁿᵉ
ᶦᵐᵃᵍᵉ ᵐᶦⁿᵉ

  
Today, I was traveling in Delhi for a special purpose, and as some of you know that I have no car right now so I was traveling in a cab. When I passed through some of the famous areas I could not resist taking a couple of photos.

ᶦᵐᵃᵍᵉ ᵐᶦⁿᵉ
DSC01103.JPG

Location

Today Delhi has a network of roads, metros, big flyovers, and all the facilities found in a good city. What do you feel about this beautiful tunnel close to Pragati Maidan and the graphite on its walls?

10% Beneficiary @hive163291

Sort:  

TEAM MILLIONAIRE

Your post has been successfully curated by @franyeligonzalez at 40%.

His publication has been awarded for being one of the winners of the contest of the user @alegnita

Thank you for your committed efforts, we urge you to do more and keep posting high quality contests for a chance to earn valuable upvotes from our team of curators and why not be selected for an additional upvote in the weekly list of Top Contests.

 last year 

Thanks, TEAM MIllionarie and @franyeligonzalez, thanks a lot.

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

 last year 
Loading...
 last year 

Wuoooohoooo!!!! This is a very complete article about Delhi where there's a lot to do as I'm seeing 🤩 your country has a lot to offer with the wealth of the culture and variety of traditions friend. Thank you so much for such support and corresponding promotion for the Steemit platform that deserves enough from us. Receive my best regards from LA. Happy Thursday ☺️

 last year (edited)

Thanks for your kind words. Actually, I am short on time right now as I am in the process of going back to Canberra so I did a job that didn't satisfy me but since I had given my word to my friend disconnect, I did it.

As a travel blogger, I will give you better posts in the coming weeks.

LA? Does it mean you're in the US right now?

Regards!

 last year 

Jeje, no... Latin America in fact. I know LA refers to Los Angeles in CA. 😅 So you're a man that respect the given word. That's very appreciated from your part. Not all are like this. And don't worry, take your time on your moving in order to see you with calm st the Blockchain, although sincerely i really liked your content. I say it once again. Can't imagine how much is the real quality when you are widely available. 😃

 last year 

Thanks for your kind words! I would like to mention a couple of my posts from WOX (incidentally, they have 14 contests in this category and I am there in all 14 of them) I am giving you 2 of them.

https://steemit.com/hive-185836/@dove11/wox-travel-contest-or-week-4-a-trip-to-jervis-bay-nsw-australia

https://steemit.com/hive-185836/@dove11/wox-travel-contest-or-week-2-a-road-trip-in-new-zealand

I hope I will post something like this to satisfy myself.

My best regards.

 last year 

Thank you. I'll take a look on them. Of course I've heard about this contest that were launched in Xpilar community.

 last year 

Thank you for being a passionate storyteller and sharing your adventures with us. Your dedication to preserving and promoting the cultural heritage of Delhi is truly admirable. I'm eagerly looking forward to reading more about your explorations and discovering other hidden gems through your insightful posts.

Once again, happy birthday to Steemit Travel! May your journey continue to inspire and connect travelers from around the world. Keep up the fantastic work, and here's to many more incredible adventures ahead! 🎈🌟

 last year 

Thank you so much for your sweet and kind words 👍

I have posted at least 100 posts with my own experience in different countries. Probably that was the reason, I delegated this community even without ever posting here. Thank you once again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61182.87
ETH 3360.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49