My Experience of Adventure and Traveling to Natural Scenic Spots - Steemit Engagement Season 4| Limbe Wildlife Center By @chantsteemCreated with Sketch.

in Steemit Travel2 years ago (edited)

Salutation

Warm steem greetings to everyone on this platform and special greetings to administrators of the Steemit travel community. Traveling at times to me is boring especially if one is going to stay indoors. But visiting a scenic spot makes traveling memorable. Today, I will be sharing with you all my experiences with the Limbe Wildlife Center. I visited the center together with my husband and kids last month before school resumption.

9D4F3AF0-F138-4CCB-A315-B8AD2C0F52D4.jpeg
My images edited on Pixelcut

Name of Tourist site: Limbe Wildlife Center.

The world at large is fighting to protect endangered species and Cameroon is not indifferent. The Limbe Wildlife Center is one of the centers in the country where animals are rescued from illegal trades, and poaching and rehabilitated at the center.

0F9724F7-A1CD-41F7-A190-CFA5604AB2B5.jpeg

C14B2855-415E-4650-890D-16B74E4D3A1C.jpeg

18944B79-D446-4508-AB3F-9B0D4F5C17F1.jpeg

Location (including transportation access points)

The wildlife center is located in the South West region of Cameroon, specifically Limbe city. It is adjacent to the Botanical garden. Besides the center is a police station, therefore your security is put in place.

6C4A139E-8C68-48D2-8353-CA63943278B4.jpeg
w3wcode

The center is located beside the main transport road. You can either come with your car or take a cab but car owners have limited parking space at the center. So, I will advise you to use a cab. To access the center, you pay for a token that is not expensive.

Public facilities;
  • Medical unit
  • Public tab/restrooms
  • Museum
  • Conservator Guide
  • Restaurant

The total cost I spent.

ItemsCost Price(FCFA)STEEM
Transport to and fro6000 x 6Approximately 260
Cab fare from the Bus station to the center300 x 3Approximately 1.5
Feeding3000x 3 daily for 3 daysApproximately 180
Fair to access the centerAdults nationals = 500 x 2 and kids 300x 2Approximately 4
Miscellaneous20000Approximately 150
Total67,500595.5

Note that I have not added accommodation to the cost because we had a family resident there and so spent the nights there. Also, we did not eat at the restaurant in the center because it was too expensive.

An interesting experience from my adventure or journey!

Most often, I usually watched wild animals on the National Geographic TV channel. I have been to Limbe several times during my school days in the South West region but did not border going to the center. This journey made it possible for me to visit the center.

I experienced the way the conservators communicate with the animals especially when it’s time for them to eat or go indoors and sleep.

A848349F-46A2-495C-AD9C-29C75196F452.jpeg
The conservators send the animals indoor and ready to feed them.

I never knew animals could be diabetic. I experienced a diabetic drill monkey who was isolated from other animals and placed under a special diet and care.

One sad experience was that we got news of the death of the only python at the center.

What made me interested in visiting this place?

  • I needed time with family out of my hometown and Limbe was a good place to relax with family.
  • Apart from the wildlife center, there are many tourist sites in this place for instance the former slave trade center, the beach, and the botanical garden.
  • My kids and I needed to see the different types of animals at the center in order not to argue each time we watched the national geographic channel 😎😎.
  • The services offered at the center are affordable.
  • The animals were friendly as compared to another wildlife center in the capital city I visited.

Will you come back again to visit that place, give your reasons about the natural charm that makes you interested!

Of course, it is a yes…yes for me. Each time I have the opportunity to visit the center I will not hesitate. The reasons why I will come back to the center are as follows;

  • My son was just 2 years old when I visited the center last month. Therefore, I need to take him there when he is above 5 years old.
  • The museum at the center is a good research center for me to carry out my research about endangered species.

E46BF6C4-AB4B-476E-8A8B-4E98AF486A01.jpeg
Part of the museum

  • The variety of different species of monkeys is another charm that made me interested to come back for another visit.
  • The parrots 🦜 , from the story we were told by the conservator that the parrots can be trained to act as a guard at home. Wow 🤩, I wish to always go back and have a chat with those parrots.

Tips or suggestions for other people who want to visit the place!

  • Limbe is one of the most expensive cities in Cameroon. Therefore as a visitor add miscellaneous to your budget in case of any other additional costs.
  • Food at the restaurant at the center is expensive, so you might want to give it a second thought, buy your food items and cook yourself at the guest house. Or you can eat in other moderate restaurants out of the center.
  • During the rainy season, put on rain boots because moving around the center will be challenging.
  • Do not forget to put on your face mask because you will not be allowed access to the center without a face mask.
  • National fare is different from international fares. However, the fares are moderate and affordable.
  • You have the right to request a conservator guide throughout the center without paying for but you can give a token to the conservator for motivation.
  • There is a police station closer to the center in case of any security challenges, you can easily report there.
  • You do not feed the animals and only the conservators do that.
  • Visit the center in the morning or afternoon when the animals are outdoors.
  • Do not touch the animal’s fence because they are electrified.
  • The center does not buy nor sell animals.

Conclusion

In sum, if you are an animal lover, then visit Limbe wildlife center and experienced the different types of animals you might likely see them only in Cameroon. Apart from the center, there great different tourists sites in the city. I will use this opportunity to invite @majerius, @wase1234 and @mojuapollonia to share their experiences with us.

Sort:  

Hello friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

 2 years ago 

Screenshot of my post shared on Twitter.

13D4903E-B57C-418D-A0FC-FC2988AF2329.jpeg

Waouh so amazing. I knew your visit to limbe wasn't for fun only. You have taken the contest challenge and done so well massa😅.
I've never visited a wildlife before apart from the evil forest😅

 2 years ago 

How can son of man visit evil forest🤔🤔🤔. Anyways next time I’m going I will invite you to go along with me.

❤️‍🔥🎉🎉🎉 I'll be so honoured. I went to see how those evil spirits are doing😅

 2 years ago 

Okay. I hope they are doing well?

 2 years ago 

Thank you for sharing these special animals that represent the wild life of the earth planet like we use to see on TV documentary. Well structured and complete information.

Plagiarism freeYES
SteemexclusiveYES
Club100YES
Verified userYES
free botsYES
Voting CSI14.9 ( 0.00 % self, 174 upvotes, 103 accounts, last 7d )
Rating8-10

Have a nice day !

 2 years ago 

Thank you for the review. I use to watch documentaries on national geographic but visiting the center made me watched the animals live. I hope you will one day visit the center?.

Loading...

Your article has been supported with a 50% upvote by @fredquantum from Team 2 of the community curator program. We encourage you to keep producing quality content on Steem to enjoy more support from us and a likely spot in our weekly top 5.

20220902_095909_0000.png

 2 years ago 

Thank you @fredquantum for the support.

wow quite interesting visiting reserves like that has a feeling you can't get elsewhere its more like going to the village again after being out for a long time u really get to relate with nature. it's really an awesome experience.

 2 years ago 

Thank you for the support.

ur welcome🙏🙏

 2 years ago 

Most of the food in tourist places are quite expensive than usual places,
A place like this teaches us to always love our nature and all that is in it, it's really a pity if there are sick and rehabilitated animals,
Good luck for the contest
👍👍👍

 2 years ago 

Thank you for reading through my text. The animal drill monkey has been at the center for years. Just if recent that the animal was diagnosed with diabetes. She was separated from the other drills and placed under special care.

 2 years ago 

you are welcome...
So sorry to hear this, I hope he can get well soon and be healthy as usual

 2 years ago (edited)

Chances of survival are slim from what the conservator told us because of age.🥲🥲

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56269.96
ETH 2364.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26