My Story in Saving the Environment by @mesbakh

in Steem-Environment2 years ago (edited)

Good Morning
Hello friends and lover's of this great community #steem-environment, I am pleased because @saifuddin73 invited me in this contest which is organized by @hive-161774. And of course I greet you @palang & @ridwant too.
I've been separating organic and inorganic waste for the past 2 years, since the corona outbreak in 2022. I initially did this because at the beginning of the corona pandemic I had a lot of free time because my workplace only enforces a work from home policy. Because I have free time, so I think to do something useful both for myself and the environment. Therefore I thought to do something simple but useful. It must start from within my own house of course.
Finally, the first step I took was to separate organic waste and inorganic waste in my kitchen. I use small containers for organic waste and large bins for inorganic waste. Organic waste from my kitchen includes leftover spices, vegetables, chicken bones, tea dregs and food scraps.

IMG20220315045948.jpg

I use organic waste from my kitchen as compost material. If the organic waste is wet, maggots usually appear in 2-3 days. Therefore I should not leave this organic waste more than 2 days in the kitchen.
Every 2 days I put this organic waste under the plants in my pot in front of the house so that the garbage withers. After the amount is quite large, I immediately turn the waste into compost.
How to make compost from organic waste is very easy. The materials needed are organic waste and ready-made compost (I bought it at a plant store). It is better if the organic waste is cut into small pieces or crushed so that it decomposes more quickly than in its large whole form. If there is no compost, you can use manure. For the container, I used a large polybag.

Screenshot_2022-03-05-05-40-05-41.png

The way to make compost is, put compost or fertilizer in a 5-10 cm thick container, then add 5-10 cm thick organic waste and add fertilizer or compost again with the same thickness and add organic waste again. Do this until the place is almost full. And make sure that the last thing added is fertilizer or compost, not garbage. If it is full, then flush with a little water and put it in a shady place and don't let it get rained on. In about 1 month, the waste will turn into compost.
I use the compost as a plant medium for urban gardening. I myself have always loved gardening at home. I grow vegetables such as mustard greens, scallions, chilies, ginger and others.
I believe that by separating organic and inorganic waste, then I use organic waste as compost material and use it for gardening at home, then I have done a circular process and reduced my carbon footprint significantly.
I hope that with small steps like this, I can contribute to reforestation and fight global warming even though I live in a densely populated area.

IMG20220316063218.jpg

In order to make the contest go wider, I invite @yoedie, @moankara and @achmaddoriza52 to participate in this contest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60646.47
ETH 3379.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51