Quarantine diaries_12.04_12.04_I did Gỏi cuốn and a Live on Instagram

in Real Digital Nomads4 years ago

Preface

I've been living as a digital nomad since 2017. I lived in more than ten countries before I arrive in Vietnam on 25.01.2020. On 28.01.2020 Vietnam decreed the closure of the border with China after the news about the appearance of a strange virus in the Wuhan market.

On 1 February all flights from China, Macao, Taiwan were suspended. Subsequently, the flights and the border with China were opened, but the situation kept changing. The restrictions on the entry in Vietnam were changing accordingly to the number of cases growing in different countries. Thus, Koreans and Europeans were also banned from entering the country at the beginning of March.

On March 22nd, all foreigners were forbidden to enter the country. In 28.03 activities such as gyms, cinemas, tourist sites, massage parlors, karaoke, and others were closed.

On 01.04 Vietnam decreed the total lockdown implementing the social distancing measures. Since then, people can only leave home to buy food and medicine

The restrictions imposed by the country totally changed my reality, my plans and my life as a digital nomad. I decided to write this diary to report these days and somehow continue to travel within an apartment of less than 32 square meters.

12.04_I did Gỏi cuốn and a Live on Instagram

Untitled design.jpg

I woke up with a lot of energy and motivated to get the things done! So, I started my day with my black coffee and cinnamon and then I started my workout routine. Working out at home is not something new for me. However, during the quarantine times, the lack of space in the apartment seems not to bother me anymore. I live is such a small place, a studio with less than 60 square meters I guess, and even though I found its possible to jump rope, do squats, and even dance in such a small space… I think that creativity flows better in the scarcity, so I’m enjoying this times to be creative with my body and with my workouts.

Basically my routine starts with some yoga, then I do or abs/glutes or arms/legs workout using youtube videos. To finish I do 20 - 30 minutes jumping rope. Jumping rope, for sure, is the best thing. Even when I feel lazy, after I’m sweating and with my body really hot, I know it’s the best thing to do. Without those endorphins, I think I would get crazy!

After working out, I had my breakfast, read for a while and spend some time working. I’m having some kind of cravings lately, and I believe it’s an effect of isolation for sure. Food is always a way of comforting, so things like pizza, burgers, and chocolate sounds really attractive now. But, they aren’t possible for these times, since the deliveries are all closed. Here in Vietnam, they have a kind of a magic ingredient: yes, I’m talking about the rice papers! Those cuties have a long life and you can make many creative recipes with it!

I discover, for example, that if you cut the rice paper into small pieces and deep fry it, you have a great chips to eat with guacamole or another kind of dip. Here in Vietnam, I’m crazy about the rice paper fresh spring rolls (Gỏi cuốn) with peanut sauce. So, I tried to make some.

It’s super easy to prepare. And basically all that you need is some toppings like carrots, cucumbers, avocado, mushrooms stir fried, tofu,prawns, lettuce and glass noodles. I didn’t have the glass noodles, so I used only the lettuce. Also, since I’m vegetarian here, I put tofu or mushrooms to give it more consistency.

First, you need to moisten the rice papel with some water. You can do it with your hands or with a clean piece of cloth. Don’t put so much water, otherwise the rice paper will get too soft and then it become harder to roll it.

After, you out the toppings, close the borders and roll it all the way! Voilá! You have an amazing dinner/lunch or side dish! The sauce is also super easy to make it. Basically its peanut butter (1 spoon), 1 lemon squeezed and 2 spoons of soya sauce. It’s really tasty and amazing sauce to use even with other dishes…

At night, I had a Live in Instagram. I’m enjoying the blogger life for a while talking with people in this way. The topic of the Live was a Q&A and people asked me:

  • If I think it is possible to have babies and being nomad
  • How I deal with my financial situation, how do I work with money
  • Where do I find my clients
  • Do I think its a problem to travel solo being a woman
  • How do I keep myself positive on this times
  • How am I dealing with the idea that I could go to anywhere, but now I cannot go anymore
It was really good live I guess, and after some friend send me a message on private that they were happy to see me. And I was happy to hear them too… Crazy times. Crazy life, I should say. But my life become so digital in the last 3 years, that it’s interesting to see everyone facing this same reality. What is isolation in real terms? I feel like I’ve been isolated during a long time from what suppose to be familiar to me. But also, more connected to it.

Steemit introducing.jpg

Sort:  

Sounds like you had quite the adventure in Vietnam. And I read that you're back in Brazil now. How did you manage to get a flight out of Vietnam? Did they reopen the borders?

Here in CM, we could not buy beer for 22 days! Not in a bar, not from the supermarket, not from 7-11, not in a restaurant. But since Monday, we can buy it again ... but only at supermarket or 7-11.

The pool here is closed. After a week of no swimming, I started going for long walks each day. Usually, I walk for over 2 hours. In this heat! Can't wait for the pool to reopen ... maybe at the end of this month.

Thailand granted a VISA AMNESTY, so most people whose visa expired after 26 March are allowed to stay until 31 July!!! Nice.

On 31 July, there will most likely be many people lined up to leave Thailand. I wonder if there will be flights out. Now, CM airport is still closed. We never hear any planes flying over Doi Suthep mountain.
Cheers!

Hey hey my friend! How are you? Good to have news from you! I was almost writing to you and Hugo... So, yes, it was a repatriation flight organized by the Brazilian government. The situation of visas in Vietnam were getting a little bit tricky. They want to charge us US$325 or even more (depending of the visa company) to renew the visa for 3 months. I couldn't come back to Thailand and I realize that staying there could be some kind of " postponing a problem". So, I decide to come back to Brazil. The situation here is not easy. A lot of deaths, people don't follow the lockdown, the conomy going worse... Anyway... Hope better days will come to us. Hope that

Sounds like you made a wise decision to leave SE Asia ... as least for a while. I hope the situation in Brazil improves, but I hear that it's not looking very rosy right now.

I'll probably (have to) leave Thailand by the end of July, but I'm not looking forward to it. If I can do a visa run to Mae Sai and get another month-long visa, I'll do that.

All the best on your end!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.38
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 69632.42
ETH 3496.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.84