Freewrite - Day 1213

in Freewriters3 years ago (edited)

#freewrite


Anyone in true love with sirensong will know: glorious madness is the priceless treasure of mortal moments. Capt. Benjamin Smith, as perchance the only lover of sirensong still in possession of his life, knew this all too well. The harsh melodies, the shrill fugue, encapsulated something for Smith that remained inutterable.

Maybe it was the fact that he was an excellent swimmer, or perchance some not-yet-exhausted form of good luck, but Capt. Benjamin Smith was still alive. After five years of rebuilding the SS Brinksmanship, he was back out on the quest.

Lush Luxe was in his below-deck quarters, doing whatever sorcerer things he did to locate the sirens. Smith could rely upon him, especially since he compensated Luxe very fairly with rubies, emeralds, and gold ingots. And Luxe's odds for survival remained good, since he could fly. It was a great stress and took the sorcerer within an inch of his life to make it back to shore, but for those ingots he would do it. Smith suspected the sorcerer also had his own obscure taste for sirensong.

"We gonna make it this time, Cap'n?" First Mate Penny Lee asked from leaning up against the starboard rail. "I'd hate to see another crew go down in the surf. And I'd hate to be outta work another five years."

Penny Lee had survived the last three wrecks through his affinity for dolphins. More correctly, the dolphins' affinity for him. It was those seafaring mammals that sustained him to safety each other time they had taken to the rocks.

"Do you hear that, Penny?" the Captain said, steering a little southwesterly then straightening out. "I caught a faint strain on the breeze. We're almost there now."

Something about the glint in Capt. Smith's eyes had First Mate Penny Lee beginning to prepare for a cold, wet dip.


#freedom #writing #siren #song #story


Sort:  

Oh wow do write the entire story! This is fabulous.

Reminds me a little of a book I read once with ships and magicians.. loved it a lot and I think they made a TV miniseries from it but for life of me I can't recall what it was. Do join me on HIVE... I can delegate to you there to get you going a bit too.

oh wow do write the entire story!

Plz leave a link for HIVE if you can thxu

Hi @riverflows I created an account (user name: wild11william ) but I will prolly need some direction from here..

Thx for your help

Oh nice name!!!! Firstly, write yourself an Introduction post - that'll get you some attention. I'll delegate to you straight way so you can get voting. It's very similiar. Use 'Peakd' - tis a great way to interact with the chain.

https://peakd.com/@riverflows/feed

I can't see that you've created an account there yet? Did you download your keys?

I'm riverflows#4691 on Discord if you want to get in touch there.

Yes I did download my keys. Hmm...well I'll work on it more tomorrow...

Thank you for all the support and encouragement.

Did you end up getting on HIVE?

If so, come give me a hello so I can support you as best can! Maybe you have to log on first..

Or perhaps authenticate your account?

Oh, I have you - https://peakd.com/@wild11william - @owasco!

Let me know as soon as you are posting and I'll delegate.

oh thank you! I've been searching for his name here.

hahahaha. You are so funny!

And Luxe's odds for survival remained good, since he could fly.

If I upvote this, neither of us will get a thing, so I am adding 1 steem to the 2 steem reward you earned by finishing my hogweed story.

Thank you so much. Also I just posted a new freewrite for today.

If you have time, check it out. I hope you like.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00