Convoluted Logic

in Freewriters4 years ago

think-975605_1280.jpg

Everyone is talking. Most people are talking about the virus and many are fearful about getting sick or even dying from coronavirus. We have not had any deaths in Pennsylvania, but that information isn't stopping people from clearing shelves of toilet paper, hand sanitizer and staples. Stockpiling out of fear and the intense speculations of news media added to social media panic and over what is happening in the hardest hit countries. In my 57 years I've never seen so much fear and although it is something to watch and use caution regarding, I feel it is overblown.

My supervisor sent an email asking if we have laptops. I responded that I don't because I don't have a company issued laptop. Some people answered they own laptop's. A list was created of 'critical employees' who were asked to download software to their personal PCs and work from home using private wifi connections(!). I don't think this was thoroughly weighed and to have private health information exposed to a personal PC might create more problems than solutions, but who am I? Issue me a laptop and I'll consider that. My wifi has a data cap. I don't own a home phone. Transparency is a word bandied about, but isn't truly observed.

Corporate closed all meetings of 20+ people. Colleges sent students home. Another email sent advised employees that all food days are suspended, but work break room tables and counters are not washed all day. Logic.

Critical thinking seems lacking in many areas. Logic.

We wait while the world goes mad. Words fly all over and fear defies reason. A terrible influenza spread through work in January and February keeping many home for a week, but attendance is dinged when we miss. You're paid but it reflects against you so people come in sick and coughing. Bronchial infections, sinus infections and even pneumonia ran through the floor from cubicle to cubicle. I got a sinus infection after my vacation but I called telemedicine quickly and got an antibiotic from home and I missed no work. It never escalated to coughing etc. A doctor note doesn't excuse a missed day. One attendance ding applies to 3 consecutive days missed and a second ding for another 3 misses unless you qualify for FMLA (Family Medical Leave Act). Attendance is part of metrics, raises and promotions. The sick should stay home.

We speak privately and shake our heads in private at the lack of prevention, but it was just 'seasonal' influenza. Work must go on, productivity is paramount.

We're measure by not just words but actions.

SRC

This is my five minute freewrite using prompt words.
Check out @mariannewest daily prompts and join
hive-161155 @freewritehouse for opportunities to win Steem Basic Income weekly!

Sort:  

Thank you for reminding us of LOGIC and REASONING skills, so conspicuously missing from this "crisis" - weddings are getting canceled - our son booked a flight from NY to Chicago to play a gig which has been canceled. Disneyland is closed. People book flights and hotels, usually non-refundable, and plan a year in advance for things now being canceled because Chicken Little said the sky is falling. meh!

Precisely! I read a Moms fearful account of having to tell her sons that the trip to Disneyland that the family has anticipated for 6 months using a countdown timer is cancelled. Her son cried,"Mommy, I've been waiting forever, please don't do this to me." The mom feels riddled with guilt. My wedding is July 18 & Gainesville has reported cases there & my sister is worried she will not be able to get sized for her bridesmaids dress.

This is the crazy thinking in the US. People keep working when sick - more people get sick. Really, production would be higher if the sick stay home and only the healthy work...

Not all employers are this way, but unfortunately many! Thanks for reading @mariannewest. I hope all is well there!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63122.36
ETH 3072.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86