You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hungry

in Freewriters2 years ago

My grandmother had a cellar filled with these jars. I remember how she prepared food. Beans and pears. The apples were dried on the floor of the attick. I can't remember when she gave up on it. I assume before my grandfather died.

My mother had from everything 3 in her closet underneath the stairs. Not enough to survive for long for the entire family since most of it wasn't food but still.

My grandmother had an aquintance (older than she) and she stocked whatever she could.

You know what? Each of them always said: You never know when it's war again.
Since World war II there were plenty of wars and many infected us all in some way even if we weren't aware of it.

Each summer I try to collect, prepare and save food for the winter. No shops nearby where I live and once the weather changes (rain or winter) it will be hard to use the road out of here. So I need to be prepared if not for me it's for my children.

Lately I used a jar with pickles I made in 2015. It was still good. 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57405.63
ETH 2867.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54