Stow a way

It sounds weird but it's true.
I can't swim but the sea beckons me,
the tide pulls.
Why shouldn't I be a sailor, I ask Mom.

Dad left years ago
Not by choice, but by force.
A new world ahead, new opportunities.
My mother doesn't allow it.

You are old enough by now to understand that not each piece of gold shines, she says.
I look at her sullenly.
I don't like that sermon.

When she finally shuts up, I pick up my bags.
I leaving.
I'm 11 years old and that woman already drives me crazy.

Goodbye home, bye bye quay, so long ashore.
My ship sets sail.
This stowaway likes it already.

sailing-ship-g1df42cff4_1920.jpg

Host #pic1000 contest @freewritehouse

Photo = #pictureprompt provided by @freewritehouse

See here for the source

Sort:  

Thanks for joining pic1000 👍

11 year old sailor huh?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99