Catastrophe

in Freewriters4 years ago

Mommy, she said, my tummy hurts.

Before I could do anything, she wrung her neck while her eyes turned purple. A hand-shaped jelly-like thing flung out of her mouth landed on the kitchen floor and glid into the direction of the cat flap.
The whole time I believed my little girl just experienced a bad dream she told me the truth. They did visit her, did use her body for their expirements. Each time I hugged her I embraced that thing!
For a moment I wish I would have followed the NNN (New Natural Norms) and had kept social distance but old fashioned me stick to the rule children develop best if you cover them with a blanket of love and personal touch.
There it was. All that was left of my baby was her skin. It was pulled out by that thing as if it was an old dirty robe.
The slime ended its slide in front of the cat flap at the same time the feline pushed her head inside. She hit at the intruder and swung it in front of my feet where it shrunk into the size of a marble.

"I guess they're worth more to you than to me, Miss, but the poor have got to live as well as the rich."

"You don't fool me Jack. You are not poor and like we both know you will never sell them. I know it you know it. No one ever showed interest."

I took the jars of the counter and had no intention to waste more time listening to his complaining. I had more important things to do. The rumors turned out to be true and the world would change again if no one acted. So far I had be the only one.

That bastard of a leader sold us to the highest bidder but he will not enjoy his reward for long, I thought and stepped back into the grey world outside.

Jack let her go. Her money was as good as anyone else's and what she had paid was a fair price. She was right, no one else would be interested. He prayed she wouldn't do something stupid. When was the last time he had seen her kid?

"You know what to do?", I asked.
The cat glimpsed at me for a while and left. It was all up to her now. She had taken care of the jelly like-thing that had taken over my daughter and many others. Accidentally I had found the reason: a cat allergy. The aliens avoided cats, tried to escape as soon as a cat came near and felines were needed to avoid them to enter a new host and spread. I had studied the sudden change of behavior. Only one more was needed: patient zero. The last free jar on my counter was reserved for it. Without the crown those left would live thanks to a cat.

CCC = #hive-166850

This is an Invitation to join #ccc. The community CCC supports members by encouraging and upvoting each other and by hosting contests. Contests are hosted by @team-ccc and it's members. See @team-ccc for contests running.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63099.62
ETH 2555.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83