Outside the tent

in Freewriterslast month (edited)


tent.jpg

Something was just outside the tent. I didn't know what. I had some idea. I mean everybody knew what was in these woods.

More than that, everybody knew what wasn't in these woods.

I resolved to wait until morning to see if I could find some tracks or what not.

Pots rattled around out on the table. It's a good thing that I had cleaned everything up.

The food that we had was pulled up into a tree.

Hopefully whatever was out there wouldn't get into it.

I just had to wait for daybreak.

The hours dragged by.

I heard the occasional chitter.

Right at dawn I heard whatever it was moving out.

I waited about another half hour before peeking out. Nothing there.

I made my way around to the back of the tent where I had heard all the noise during the night and didn't see anything.

Then I saw tracks around the table - coon tracks.

Trash pandas. What a relief.

Image by bhossfeld from Pixabay

Sort:  

A nice story, I liked reading it. You made each word count.

Thank you very much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64024.15
ETH 3515.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55