Not many moving about

in Freewriters3 years ago


20210215_153335.jpg

I don't know if it's because of the inclement weather or because it's (not my) President's Day but there were very few people on the road today or moving about in general.


20210215_152602.jpg


20210215_152601.jpg

This is the Mississippi River at the Jefferson Barracks Bridge just south of St. Louis.

You can't tell much about it because of the white out but it's full of ice floes.

I probably should have stayed home today but I made out there and back with no incidents.


3b1d81e5-6230-4ddb-8bdc-27668dc4cfd3.jpg

Freewrite prompt: moving

Images by me as I was riding along as a passenger today.

Sort:  

LOL

(not my) President's Day

Not much moving there. We had snow this weekend on the Washington coast too, which is very rare. I hunkered down inside though, so no pics. :)

Hey glad to hear it uthus2k.

The part about out and back with no incidents. I too really appreciate getting home with no incidents.

Hey I also live on the Mississippi. It's literally less than a mile as the crow flies from my very person this very moment writing this comment to you. I live in a town (not sure if that's the right word and I couldn't tell you the population off hand -- the population of the hub town we're connected to is approx. 65,000) called Sauk Rapids, MN. Sauk Rapids gets its name from the Sauk River, which is a tributary to the Mighty Mississip.

Hey, how wide is it down by you? If you don't mind my asking.

Oh by the way, thanks for that nomination last week. Means a lot to me.

You're welcome.

The bridge is a mile long. The river is not quite that wide most of the time.

St. Louis is on a low bluff so when it floods it's on the Illinois side and can go east as far as a mile in places.

There are a lot of small towns down here that would get flooded were out not for the levees.

Here's some flooding from 2 years ago:

And the Kaskaskia Mississippi confluence:

It was really low when i took the last one a couple of months back.

thanks again for sharing sir

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84