Never, never, never give up.

in Freewriters2 years ago


man_smoking.jpg

The first Thursday in November was a year. I didn't pick that day. It kind of just happened.

I had smoked my last cigarette the night before just before I went to bed. It may have been my intention to buy another pack in the morning. I don't remember. For some reason, I didn't.

I don't remember who I worked with that Thursday, if anyone. I'm sure that I was not pleasant to be around. I'm also sure that it was worse Friday.

By Monday, though, I was human again. I'd made it this far, I was not going to give up.

And I haven't. I ain't gonna lie, though. Sometimes I still find myself longing for a cigarette.

Note: The title of this article is from a speech given by Winston Churchill, October 29, 1941.


hr.jpeg

Image by NoName_13 on Pixabay.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65771.81
ETH 3174.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61