CONTEST: A Picture is Worth a Thousand Words || Two Feelings || By @sarahraudhah

in Freewriters3 years ago (edited)

CONTEST: A Picture is Worth a Thousand Words - 11/12/2021

image.png
Not me again!!

That was what was in my mind after I got yet another project for me to handle. I've had been working overtime for the past 2 weeks. Sacrificing my weekend and my relationship with my dearest. I like to think that doing charity work is about doing something you like in your free time. Not being forced to do something in your free time.

It's very frustrating at times. Especially when people go down on you and use religion as their backup.

So, I complained to one of my chief-director (Chief 1). We have 3 chief-director and sometimes the works overlap.

I told him about my past 3 projects that I, me, myself alone had to take care of for the past 2 weeks and I told him I desperately need some rest. Turn out, another chief director (Chief 2) already filed a report on me. She stated that I should be relieved of some works as it might jeopardize my already mountains of works.

They told me to take extra days off but I was reluctant. I just wanted to have my weekend back and I don't think someone would take care of the project though they already assign everyone else on the job. I was right. So, I took the 4th project of that month and saw it through for nearly a month until everything finish.

Was I mad? Was I furious? I don't know. Was I being stupid for doing all this charity work? Sometimes I think I am.

We got the same allowance so why is it I feel like I'm being overworked?

I actually am not a volunteer. This is my day job. We got the minimum salary at least. Our 'leaders' would often say, "We're working for charity. We're working for our religion." I don't know why but having to hear this too often, making me lose my motivation more and more.

About a week after,

image.png
Wow!!! Alhamdulillah. Praise the Lord.

Chief 2 wired some money to my account to buy pampers and milk for my baby. I'm very grateful.

I wasn't even sure if I was stressed out because of our finance at home or I was just tired but I remembered I was feeling so delighted when me and my husband go to the shop to buy milk and pampers for our baby. I think I haven't laughed for a while until that day. My relationship with my family was also inproved.

I promised myself to never do any work on weekends unless they pay me extra for my own mental health. I could report them if I wanted to but I didn't cause I still love my work. I know I might get triple or more working somewhere else but I'm also doing this for my community.

A few years ago, I got double that (my salary) with half working time being a part-timer but the feeling wasn't the same so I quit. They did ask me to stay another year so they can find my replacement and I comply. They even raised my wages. lol

Having a great salary doing something that content you really hard to come by.

So, that's my story of having two different feelings after reading a text on my phone.

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Lucky you they raised your wages. I do not like to read texts. They change the mood immediately.

Sometime I postponed reading the texts but the board member might 'call' us if we didn't respond to our texts too often. I really don't want that on my record. Lol

That I understand. 👍😂

Thank you for sharing your story about the mixed feelings. 👍

My pleasure. Thanks for dropping by. 💐

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67146.64
ETH 3123.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80