Tick Tock Let’s Wind Up The Clock

in Freewriters5 years ago (edited)

9802F15F-2479-4080-B21B-D62B6DDE0C21.jpeg

My first thought in seeing the today’s prompt ‘Tick Tock’ was the nursery rhyme:

Tick Tock
The mouse ran up the clock
The clock struck one
Tick Tock
The mouse ran down.

But as I typed this I realized it was not Tick Tock but ‘Hickory Dickey Dock‘ the mouse ran up the clock.

In my defence, the clocks in those days must have went tick tock at some point. After all the little ditty has been around for centuries. :)

With the onslaught of today’s digital equipment the tick Tocking of the old clocks has gone the way of the cuckoo bird unless one purchases a vintage clock.

I don’t miss the old alarm clocks that had to be wound each night and lulled you to sleep with their tick tocking until they needed to be wound again. My father had one beside this bed and used it all his life. As long as you wound them up faithfully those clocks worked for years.

Take a look at that word ‘wound’. I’m using it as a verb to explain about winding up manually an old clock with a key or handle but ‘wound’ can also be used as a noun means a cut or injury to living tissue.

‘Wind’ is also one of the many words in the English language that has a different meanings. One can wind a clock by turning the key or handle at the back but ‘wind ’ is also the movement of air.

...end of five minute freewrite with prompt Tick Tock

Check @mariannewest’s post Here for more info on #freewrite



hive-161155
502B415A-C427-47DB-983C-B443ABA300DA.gif
@Felt.buzz made this awesome gif!



#thealliance




PHC-Footer-05.gif
hive-114105


7A6AB6EF-03FC-4A7F-89B8-86920CA9A5C7.jpeg

Sort:  

You have used the Hashtag #[CC] and can now reward 158.0 comments under your post with one CC.

More information about the Commentcoin-Project can be found on this account.
You can easily add an upvote to this post to support the project.
Thanks for using it.

Happy comments.
Your CC-Team:
@kristall97 ([Code-Designer])
@alucian ([Project-Designer])

@redheadpei When I read tick tock the mouse ran up the clock, I was going on like that was the saying, lol, then I read more and was like shit this is the right saying. I remember the old wind up clocks and you could hear them tic tocking all night. One thing about them was they would wake you up.

Yes, those old clocks were loud when the alarm went off. Now when the hydro happens to go out for a minute, I have to reset all the digital clocks in the house, even the one on the stove. . Not that problem with the wind up clocks. 😂

I'm imagining the gears for a clock that made a noise like hickory-dickory-dock would consist of a lot of very odd-shaped mechanisms.

The old clocks like this one didn’t go hickory-dickory-dock. :)
61273773-C7A6-4615-ACEE-CCE835D377D8.png
Source

Nice job your old alarm clocks.

On the farm we had one of those huge old "Grandfather" clocks. Made in Germany every hour it would go "Bong, bong, bong" and it used to drive us nuts and bonkers.
Your Tick Tock ditty here is great my friend.
Blessings!

Thanks Sir Stephen. It was hard on the head when they bonged the count of each hour and the twelve times at midnight. 😆

Hahaha, so you know exactly what I was talking about Lady Jo.
Even today if they have to give me a clock like that, even though they are beautiful, I will not take it Lol
Blessings!

You convinced me with your song from the beginning and I said to myself: Ah, there's a song about it! Then, when you corrected it, I was left thinking that your song sounded better. I also knew those wind-up clocks, which you mention. It seems that the intention of those who produced sound was that we should be very aware of the passage of time.
Greetings and blessings, @redheadpei!

Hi @zeleiracordero. Yes, I think hearing those old clocks tick tocking did make us aware of each minute. 😊

Nice job girl. I remember that not so nice rendition Dice Clay did on that. I like yours better :)

Thanks Rob. I’m happy you liked it. 😊
Have a great weekend!

Congratulations @redheadpei! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 9500 replies. Your next target is to reach 9750 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Howdy redheadpei! I like the old Grandfather clocks. This was a great freewrite!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58866.42
ETH 2515.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46