Backwoods You Say?

in Freewriters5 years ago

My entry to Day 810: 5 Minute Freewrite: Wednesday - Prompt: backwoods

E8F05690-32E2-4F49-9069-C61707D9AE75.jpeg

Looking out the window I see the January weather gods are lacing us with snow. I think they enjoy it and love the look of the landscape with a clean fresh blanket of white.

The trees in the surrounding backwoods are covered in white. Every tree stands proudly wearing a dress of what looks like fluffy white cotton candy.

Many years ago,when my Dad went back to his home after visiting me on P.E.I., the neighbors asked him where I lived.

He told them,

“She lives in the backwoods, completely surrounded by a forest.”

Dear old Dad was right. Although I live on an Island, from my windows I don’t see the ocean but the beauty of the backwoods. This is like the area my Dad was raised.

Although growing up in a different province, Dad came from a place where lumber was plentiful and at a time the many sawmills provided jobs for the locals. The backwoods were a blessing and the many felled trees kept the mills going and the village folks with a regular pay check.

...end of five minute freewrite.


For more info on freewriting check out @mariannewest’s post Here

Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada

Camera: iPad Air

Photo taken from my back deck this morning. It is the first real snowstorm of the season and the backwoods look like a Christmas scene in a snow globe.




62F72AF3-8CAF-49AA-A057-B5D75ABB7E69.png



#thealliance




PHC-Footer-05.gif


4FE0AA9F-086C-4905-89D2-B4699FB0E793.jpeg

Sort:  

You have used the Hashtag #[CC] and can now reward 122.0 comments under your post with one CC.

More information about the Commentcoin-Project can be found on this account.
You can easily add an upvote to this post to support the project.
Thanks for using it.

Happy comments.
Your CC-Team:
@kristall97 ([Code-Designer])
@alucian ([Project-Designer])

You got some love from a member of @thealliance family!
Keep up the great work and join us in The Castle sometime!
The #spreadlovenotwar curation campaign is under the guidance of witnesses @enginewitty and @untersatz.
Current VP: 96.33%

Thanks so much Captain. Appreciated! 💕

It certainly looks picture postcard perfect but not so handy if you need to nip down to the shops.

Hi @dierdyweirdy! It was a day when most shops and offices had what we call a snow day and school, government offices, etc are closed for the day. Tomorrow everything will be humming again as the snow has stopped. 😊

I grew up in backwoods, too. Dad got a placard that proclaimed "Boondocks USA" for our woodland modified A frame. What a beautiful place it was.

Haha Wandrnrose, I‘Ve heard it called living in the Boondocks.

@redheadpei I would think your Dad loved where you live. I love the backwoods, too.

I think he did @myjob. In this hectic world, the backwoods is not a bad place to be. 😊

Hey Jo, a nice little 5 minute freewrite. Your backwoods look gorgeous. Love the snow look. But how much life changes from one generation to the next, your dad visiting must have brought back so many wonderful memories for him.

Hi Angie. Dad had been a game warden/ forest ranger in his younger days and enjoyed walking through the forest.

I wish I could send some of this snow your way to help quench the fires. Stay safe my friend. ❤️

Great work. A Little present from the PhotoChain Challenge 🙂
!DERANGED

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks @davidesimoncini. Appreciated! 😊

Congratulations @wonderwop, you successfuly trended the post shared by @redheadpei!
@redheadpei will receive 0.00109350 TRDO & @wonderwop will get 0.00072900 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Congratulations @redheadpei, your post successfully recieved 0.0010935 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@wonderwop earned : 0.000729 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Howdy redheadpei! That's such a wonderful setting there, it must be so peaceful!

Mornin’ Cowboy! It is nice and peaceful but always some activity around. 😊

I saw on the news there was snow in Texas. Do you get any?

No, really? I haven't heard about any snow in Texas! It's incredibly warm here for this time of year. I'll probably get a suntan this week!

Rub it in Cowboy while I’m bundled up in the cold like the Michelin Man. 😂

Haha! Sorry redheadpei. Yeah today it's supposed to be 70 and tomorrow it's supposed to hit 75! That's nuts for this time of year. All I can do is enjoy it. lol. Maybe you guys will have a short winter.

That’s great temperatures Cowboy. A short winter would be grand.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58802.33
ETH 3158.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42