Alive And Well

in Freewriters5 years ago

08E8621D-B1DB-4B00-A188-D14F78C1945C.jpeg


Well has to be one of the many overused words in the English language. It has two different meaning. Not only as a popular phrase but as a reservoir of water. A water well is made by digging/ drilling below ground to access groundwater.

When I was a child my grandmother had a water Well . It was an above ground rounded structure made with field stone. A bucket with a rope was used to put down into the well to drawn up water. There was a pulley with a handle to turn and lower the bucket into the well and then use the handle to pull the bucket with the water back up. Hopefully it would be full of water. Sometimes it was only partly full depending on how you far you lowered the bucket.

Well has another meaning and is used many times a day. Here’s some of the sayings using WELL.

  • That was well written

  • I can’t very well crash the party

  • Sending get well wishes

  • Oh, very well, I will try.

  • The steak was well done and well served


...end of five minute freewrite with prompt WELL. Check out @mariannewest’s post Here for more info on freewriting.

Be well my friends. 💗


62F72AF3-8CAF-49AA-A057-B5D75ABB7E69.png



#thealliance




PHC-Footer-05.gif


51442A07-7830-4C90-873E-FFC4686934B7.gif

Sort:  

You have used the Hashtag #[CC] and can now reward 135.0 comments under your post with one CC.

More information about the Commentcoin-Project can be found on this account.
You can easily add an upvote to this post to support the project.
Thanks for using it.

Happy comments.
Your CC-Team:
@kristall97 ([Code-Designer])
@alucian ([Project-Designer])

Howdy redheadpei! Wow, your grandmother actually had an old fashioned well where you lowered the bucket and brought water back up, that's amazing!

Yes, the well is still on the old vacant property but no bucket or pulley now. It is an hand dug well with rocked wall. I don’t know who got down there to do that job. My brother keeps it covered as it isn’t used now as no one lives there now but land still in the family.

That's amazing redheadpei, I wonder if the water lever is still high enough to keep water in the well. It would be fun to have the place and have the well operating like the old days.

My brother owns the land now. It is in New Brunswick- a six hr drive from here. I was up there ( we call it going up on the hill) it is off the main road about 1/2 mi.) a few yrs ago and looked down into it and could see water. The old house and barn is gone as Nanny had moved down to the main road in later yrs.

That's very interesting redheadpei! hey I have a question for you. With Steemitbloggers/Powerhousecreatives is there something we're required to do on discord?

I get the post with the rally vote recipients and such each day but for some reason I can't get to steemitbloggers on discord anymore. when I put in steemitbloggers in discord nothing comes up.

It is working fine. I tried to add your name as one I supported when I entered a post and your name wasn’t there. You will have to get in touch with @jaynie to see what happened.

Howdy today redheadpei! So there is nothing we are required to do on the discord? I can't even find them on there anymore.

I haven’t done anything different Janton on the discord. Your name doesn’t come up for the PHC when I tried to add it as supported.

I don’t know if this will help but maybe restore it at https://discordapp.com/ in your computer's web browser.

Or try rebooting. I don’t know what you use for a computer but maybe you will have to go to settings and set it back to before this happened.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63004.58
ETH 2548.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81