The Missing Muse, a woeful but wee freewrite poem

in Freewriters5 years ago

IMG_20191204_152017638_HDR.jpg

My head is full of mashed potatoes
no stories, no words, no fun

Writers block is like sun block
screening out the sun

Alas!

My brain has turned mushy
so with this task I am done

text15.png
text15.png
text15.png

The is my entry for two days of freewrites, Friday's and Thursday's.
This took me two whole days to write! No scoffing!
I've learned not to mock my muse by writing about them as I did in this post.
I appear to have been abandoned.

by @thekittygirl

All images are my own unless otherwise stated.


owasco_banner.png



Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Sort:  

oh, there are those days when the brain is not participating. I know them only too well...

I write and write and it's all garbage! I suppose I've been lucky until now.
I even tried the most dangerous writing app, which has in the past at least jumpstarted a story for me. Nada.
"A" for effort?

yes, A for effort :)

What I really failed at is posting in our hive! I meant to compose it in steempeak then copy and paste it into our front end post tool, but forgot and hit publish. I immediately tried to delete it, but that would have left me with no copy of it, so then I tried to edit it just so I could copy it, all that took too long and I'd gotten a whopping .40stu so I just left it. Next time!!! I remembered the hive tag anyway. I got that much right.

you did show up at the hive - you must have used it as your first tag :)

We're supposed to be remembering our hive tag? Uh-oh.
This is awesome!

Writers block is like sun block
screening out the sun

Love it!

Even in that state of writer's pain you afforded to create a relatable piece? Damn. I usually go blank!

How nice to have a fellow poet's understanding! I was blank, well not blank. A good thousand words later of trash I decided to try to write about that. Didn't take very many words to do it.

I feel like the words are appropriate for that moment. Sometimes it is from that floating debris of a thousand words that we draw enough to get our feelings across.

Your muse he may be sleepy
or maybe he's unwell
but he is no deserter
and that's easy to tell
For it takes a certain savoir-faire
a certain sleight of pen
to do in 2880 minutes
what you should have done in ten:)

EXACTLY.
lol

Wow... did you just compose that on the spot?
I am not worthy! I am not worthy!

Hahahha, yes I did. I've always loved to write doggerel, Some people get a laugh out of it ... but many more just think I'm a clown:)

If that's doggerel, you'd fit right in with Shakespeare and his buddies at that inn on the Thames. Oh the wit and irreverent barbs that must have flown at Happy Hour. You'd hold your own with 'em!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62648.12
ETH 2562.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74