The Jab, a Freewrite

in Freewriters3 years ago

image.png

text16.png

The implant only took a few seconds. One of the soldiers lifted my shirt sleeve, while the other rubbed a cool swab over my flesh and touched there briefly with a small gun.

"So far so good." I thought.

The injection had become unavoidable but, fortunately, some had figured out how to reduce its negative effects. Some had managed to retain their abilities to think for themselves. Some would save the human race. I had decided to be one of them.

I'd been preparing for this moment for the past six months, by detoxifying my body every which way I could. I drank dandelion tea. I put shiitakes in every other dish I made. I foraged for pokeweed berries. I did weekly coffee enemas. I did the whole nine yards of making sure my body's self healing abilities had only this injection to deal with.

But my most protective action was to happen at the jab.

"So far so good!" I chirped to the soldier nearest me, whose job now was to watch me very closely for reactions,

Then I choked out "I can't breathe."

I accompanied this statement with a purplish hue, copious saliva, and violent shaking and a dramatic fall to the floor.

The soldier hastily scribbled the words "Medically Exempt" on the document that would follow me everywhere I went from that moment on.

I was swiftly wheeled through the back door of the private medical pod, so that I might recover where those waiting for their implants could not see me.

FxX5caie56yqUbvo2DTJv1i6qm8z4ixTabBTrjodFyZCPuFbZDncXQB89jd6mZkWM2QSrq2ahH2DhyyNE1pjQLgqmXzcj4F36iojmAUYgMVQ 2.png

This is my entry to @marianneswest's daily freewrite challenge. Today's prompt is implant.

This took me longer than five minutes to write, much longer, but I did get the gist down in five.

text16.png

image is mine

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87