Stand Closer, a Freewrite

in Freewriters4 years ago

goingtowork977664_640.jpg

There are many ways for us to go.

We can go willingly or
fighting to the end,
most of us now somewhere on the willing end,
showing that we care
by denying ourselves
handshakes, hugs, kisses,
and even smiles

If I have no choice
then I choose for you
to hold me close while the damage is done.

Shield me with your smile
your handshake
your hug
and I will shield you with mine

Stand close to me.
Close enough that I can feel
the moisture and warmth in your breath.
Close enough that I remember I am not alone
that countless before us
have been very brave
and have conquered

We must be virulent in our Humanity

This is my entry to @mariannewest's daily freewrite challenge.

This was one of those times when I had no idea I was going to write anything at all until I had already set down a few words. I did not set the timer, but it is a freewrite that took around five minutes to compose; these are the words that came out. A bit of rearranging and tidying up went on before I hit "publish".

I think there is a song in there somewhere, so I'm tagging #musicforsteem which is, if you haven't had the pleasure, a tag of marvelous music. Go see for yourselves.

And thank you for reading my poem.

Take off your muzzles, breathe freely again, smile, and be not afraid. You will be so very glad you did.

text dividers by @cryptosharon
image by @wales, Dean Moriarty

owasco_banner.png



Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Sort:  

Hi @owasco,
I'm blown away with the freewrite pieces you come up with in such short time. You have a gift with words.
Do you ever go into sort of a trance when you write these?

The message is very beautiful and powerful. I love it.

Thanks, it came out very well. The prompt was close and I saw social distancing and out this poppped, on a topic that consumes me at present so it was ripe for freewriting

Some people think poorly of freewrites, but they are very difficult to do because you have to go into a trance-like state (same state as any elevated performance). It's not always possible. If I can't get into that state right off the bat for a freewrite, I don't write anything at all. Most times I have this running thought nagging at me the whole time I am writing (this is all shit it makes no sense at all and is garbage...). I write for an allotted time, then go back just to proofread (correct spelling and punctuation mostly) then I read it through and am SHOCKED at what I have written. A few minutes of proofreading, deleting and rearranging, and I find I have written something fabulous, rich, layered, wise and coherent. Major rushes. Thanks for asking!!!

Thank you for explaining the process that occurs with you. It's pretty identical with your explanation of how it goes for me with this style of writing! Sometimes I go into the state better and some wild things are produced, other times I scrap it because I was distracted or things just didn't go right.

This happens with music for me as well, as you have probably seen at times :)

Yes all performing arts are best when done in the same state that produces good writing. A writer is a performer who performs for a future audience.

This could definitely be a song!
Great job on your freewrite poetry piece, and thank you for the shout out to the #musicforsteem community, as well as all of your great support and positive comments to the artists! We appreciate you @owasco!

The appreciation is mutual!!!!! Thanks so much. I've started working on that song, but it will be ten years before it's finished at this rate. I have one measure drafted out lol.

Thank you for being awesome! You just got upvoted by the @steemingcurators. We are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator02 account to support the best content on Steemit!

Follow @steemingcurators and also the official @steemitblog for info about Steemit, contests and the Daily Diary Challenge! Share your stories on Twitter or other social media to get extra upvotes. Just comment the link in your posts!

Biggest Live Music contest on Steemit #MusicForSteem
Follow @musicforsteem and the official community on Steemit: MusicForSteem🎵
STEEM ON!

Thank you so much!!!!

I haven't watched this yet, but want to get it onto the blockchain for protection. Hope it works!

Uncle Bruni stopped by to read and share an upvote sweetie.💕

!trdo 🙏

Congratulations @wonderwop, you successfuly trended the post shared by @owasco!
@owasco will receive 0.00112200 TRDO & @wonderwop will get 0.00074800 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Thank you Uncle!!

Congratulations @owasco, your post successfully recieved 0.001122 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@wonderwop earned : 0.000748 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63651.41
ETH 2679.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80