Freedom, A Freewrite

in Freewriters4 years ago

IMG_20190903_065644617.jpg

drawing by Akil Jahi

text16.png

the sentence
hopefully long
was to be put to death
eventually

until then
the sentence was to lose
everything
and everyone
and to listen
to the tick tock
of the clock
as the days
turned to decades

now and then
the sentence included
watching and hearing
one of your fellow men
one of your dear friends
walk past your cell on his way
to his death

what is the name of justice
when the punishment is far worse
than the crime?
text16.png

Today's freewrite prompt from @mariannewest, leader and head mom of @freewritehouse, was tick-tock. You can access it here. It made me think of my friend Akil Jahi, who may or may not be waiting for a letter from me, and I first imagined him listening to his clock tick-tock until the mail comes. Then I imagined a condemned man, and all the other men on a death row, listen to the clock tick tock even faster as the moment nears for one of their deaths in the name of justice.

Akil Jahi and Abu-Ali Abdur'Rahman have both been living on a death row for a very long time. I have started up a correspondence with Akil, whose letters always leave me breathless with both sorrow and joy. These men have learned to live life to the fullest in ways many of us only hope to be able to do. To learn more about my astonishment at what I found in a death row visiting room, please read this post, and this one. Akil has found his way in what has to be one of the bleakest of places to a state of feeling blessed. He has learned how to mine his traumas for riches. He writes poetry. We can learn so much from both of them.

IMG_20200130_140443803.jpg

For more information on Abu, please visit https://www.bonfire.com/justice-for-abu/

FxX5caie56yqUbvo2DTJv1i6qm8z4ixTabBTrjodFyZCPuFbZDncXQB89jd6mZkWM2QSrq2ahH2DhyyNE1pjQLgqmXzcj4F36iojmAUYgMVQ 2.png

owasco_banner.png



Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Sort:  

A moving poem, and a beautiful picture.

Wonderful use of the prompt @owasco. I can imagine the tick tock of the clock in the silence of a death row cell would be unbearable To the occupant.

tick tock takes on a different meaning on death row...

"what is the name of justice

when the punishment is far worse

than the crime?"

Although I don't believe in its existence, it made me think of the concept of hell.
Receive eternal punishment for the mistake made in a short and imperfect life.

That's a good comparison. Prison as it's been designed today is eternal hell, especially the death penalty - man playing god. This one particular prison is less so, and that's because of my friends there. Thanks for your comment.

until then
the sentence was to lose
everything
and everyone
and to listen
to the tick tock
of the clock
as the days
turned to decades

This is power. The sentence seems like it will outlive the man who created the sentence. It feels like a record of a certain moment. A precise moment. Like this very moment I am creating some sentences to appreciate other sentences being recorded on the chain 💙

I am moved by your free writing not only by the beautiful weaving of words into poetry, but also by the dedication. Very good use of the Prompt Tick Tock.

So sad. I just can't imagine what it must be like living like that and I don't believe in the death penalty.

what is the name of justice
when the punishment is far worse
than the crime?

Watching the news every day I wonder the same and am worried for the years to come

Howdy owasco! Wonderful freewrite here and it's a powerful view of Death Row as well, great job! Have you gotten a letter from him recently?

Yes and I have not responded. I feel terrible about that! Thanks for the reminder.

My pleasure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34