Weekend Freewrite -1/25/2020 - Single Prompt Option

in Freewriters4 years ago

This is my post for #freewrite Saturday prompt turn signal hosted by @mariannewest

The other day when I took my boat for a test run up the creek just before I was to put my turn signal on I saw an El Camino on the side of the road, it was for sale. An El Camino is a car that wants to be a truck, the back is all open. It got me to thinking about all the vehicles I have had.

The first car I had when we lived in Missouri I carried 4 spare tires and I got to know the guys at the tire repair shop well. All my tires were bald and the roads were not paved, one time I got a flat after my headlight fell out and I ran over it. Another time I was at my Dads and he was looking at my tires and he told me I was not going anywhere. On one of the back tires, I did not get the lug nuts tight and the bolts were almost worn in to. Dad put new ones in and gave me a good lecture on getting the nuts tight. I got rid of this car after one morning I went to leave and the car looked funny and when I got closer the front axle was broken and the front driver's tire was crooked.

My Mom sold me her Lincoln Continental all leather seats it was nice but it guzzled the gas. When I met my husband he had an old truck that I called the flapper the roof was torn all the way across on top of the windshield when driving it would flap in the wind.

Then he got the El Camino, the kids named it Eddy Ranchero. My husband and I use to scavenge the shorelines after a storm and found what looked like a bomb and we carried it to Eddy Ranchero and put it in the back and went to his Mom's house, she called the police and the officer said he was not putting it in his patrol car so he called the bomb squad at Cape Canaveral and they came and got it. It was a white phosphorus flare and it was on armed but did not go off. It looked like a small missle about 3 feet long.

We had the Black Hole, it was a yellow car that no matter what you put on the floor it disappeared. also driving down the road something fell out of the engine and my husband stopped and picked up a pulley, he threw it in the back seat and said well it is still running so I guess we don't need it.

We have had many more vehicles that all have stories but I have went over my 5 minutes.

Sort:  

Those were the days Cissy! I remember a few old clunkers I drove to work. 😆

@redheadpei Yes they sure were "the days" as I look back I had a lot of good times.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93